Leung Chun Ying

Inner circle

PUBLISHED : Saturday, 30 June, 2012, 12:00am
UPDATED : Saturday, 30 June, 2012, 12:00am


Related topics

Chief executive-elect Leung Chun-ying yesterday announced the members of the Executive Council, a group of 14 advisers charged with assisting him in policymaking. The council, which meets once a week, must be consulted on important policy decisions and bills to be introduced to the Legislative Council, but Leung is not under any obligation to accept conclusions they present.

Chief Executive

Leung Chun-ying 57

Lam Woon-kwong 61

Currently chairman of the Equal Opportunities Commission. Stepped down from his position as director of the Chief Executive?s Office in 2005

Cheng Yiu-tong 63

Honorary president of the Hong Kong Federation of Trade Unions and deputy to the National People?s Congress

Laura Cha Shih May-lung 62

Currently a deputy to the NPC and chairman of the Advisory Committee on Corruption of the Independent Commission Against Corruption

Anna Wu Hung-yuk 60

Former Legco member and chairwoman of the Equal Opportunities Commission. Currently chairwoman of the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Authority

Arthur Li Kwok-cheung 67

Deputy chairman of the Bank of East Asia and member of the Chinese People?s Political Consultative Conference. Former secretary for education and manpower and member of the Executive Council from 2002 to 2007

Andrew Liao Cheung-sing 62

Senior counsel and member of the CPPCC, as well as a council member of the China Law Society. Was widely tipped to be secretary of justice before Leung announced his cabinet this week

Chow Chung-kong 61

Chairman of Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing and the Hong Kong General Chamber of Commerce. Was chief executive of the MTR Corporation from 2003 to last year

Cheung Hok-ming 60

Member of the CPPCC, a Legco member, and vice-chairman of the Heung Yee Kuk. Also a member of the Democratic Alliance for the Betterment and Progress of Hong Kong

Fanny Law Fan Chiu-fun 59

Deputy to the NPC and former permanent secretary for education and manpower (2002-06) and commissioner of the ICAC (2006-07), but resigned from the government in 2007 following accusations she had interfered with academic freedom at the Hong Kong Institute of Education

Barry Cheung Chun-yuen 54

Chairman of the Hong Kong Mercantile Exchange and the Urban Renewal Authority. Prominent supporter of Leung during his election campaign

Cheung Chi-kong 53
Executive director of the One Country, Two Systems Research Institute

Franklin Lam Fan-keung 51

Senior portfolio manager at UBS Global Asset Management from 2006 to last year

Bernard Chan 47

Deputy to the NPC and chairman of the Council for Sustainable Development, as well as vice-chairman of the Hong Kong Council of Social Service

Starry Lee Wai-king 38

Legco member and Kowloon City District Council member, as well as vice-chairperson of the DAB