Saleem accepts call to return as HKCA chief

PUBLISHED : Thursday, 05 July, 2012, 12:00am
UPDATED : Thursday, 05 July, 2012, 12:00am


Incumbent president of the Hong Kong Cricket Association Shahzada Saleem will remain as head of the body after being 'persuaded' to continue by all the clubs and stakeholders in the local game.

But while Saleem (pictured) will be uncontested for the presidency, there will be a two-way battle between Kowloon Cricket Club's Simon Millington and Little Sai Wan's Suresh Ghevriya for the post of chairman at the association's reconvened annual general meeting tomorrow.

'I was approached by all the stakeholders who persuaded me to continue in order to have stability and continuity,' Saleem said.

'Despite having stated my intention of stepping down, I have now decided to put my hand up once again.

'I felt that it was time for a new person to take over but as no one has come forward I will continue. I'm very grateful for all the confidence everyone has placed in me,'

Saleem, who has been president for the past three years, announced he would step down - along with HKCA chairman Dinesh Tandon - at last month's AGM. But the meeting was adjourned after the new leadership-elect, Burji Shroff (president) and Anoop Gidwani (chairman) pulled out at the last minute.

This forced Saleem and Tandon to continue as an interim measure and for the HKCA to call for fresh nominations.

While no one else has come forward to run for the presidency, the chairmanship is expected to be hotly contested at tomorrow's AGM.

Little Sai Wan had been expected to nominate its patron Tony Turner but the latter had apparently decided against taking up the challenge due to work pressures.

Instead they have now put forward Ghevriya. Little is known about either Ghevriya or Millington.

'To be honest, I don't know much about them other than that they both are passionate about the game,' Saleem said. 'Simon is involved with [cricket outfitters] Woodworm, who were sponsors of the All Stars at last year's Hong Kong Sixes.'

The only other position on the executive committee being contested tomorrow will be the women's representative with Lisa Cameron and Agnes Ng in the running.

John Cribbin will continue as secretary while Justin Pearce will be the new treasurer.