Legco elections backgrounder: Kowloon West Constituency

PUBLISHED : Thursday, 06 September, 2012, 4:10pm
UPDATED : Sunday, 09 September, 2012, 3:48pm

The Kowloon West constituency retains five seats in this year’s election. The constituency covers Yau Tsim Mong, Sham Shui Po and Kowloon City and holds an electorate of 437967.

Among the constituency’s major contenders are LSD’s Wong Yuk-man, who won the majority of votes in the 2010 by-election, DAB’s vice chairwoman Chiang Lai Wan, former journalist and university lecturer Claudia Mo Man-ching and Tam Kwok-kiu, the ADPL’s vice chairman.

Votes were spread pretty evenly amongst different parties and camps during the 2008 Legco elections for this constituency. Lee Wai-king. Raymond Wong Yuk-man, and Legco veterans Frederick Fung Kin-kee, James To Kun-sun, Leung Mei-fun and Priscilla Leung Mei-fun secured seats. 

Kowloon West candidate list

List 1
Wong Yee-him

List 2 (DP)
Helena Wong Pik-wan
Cheung Man-kwong
Li Yiu-kee
Yuen Hoi-man
Chong Miu-sheung

List 3 (ADPL)
Tam Kwok-kiu
Liu Sing-lee
Rosanda Mok Ka-han
Wong Chi-yung
Austen Ng Po-shan

List 4
Wong Yat-yuk

List 5 (DAB)
Ann Chiang Lai-wan
Chris Ip Ngo-tung
Vincent Cheng Wing-shun
Chan Wai-ming
Lam Sum-lim

List 6 (PP)
Wong Yuk-man
Yim Tat-ming
Chau Tsun-kiu
Lau Tit-wai

List 7
Lam Yi-lai
Simon Ho Ka-kuen
Au Wing-ho
Lee Ka-wai

List 8 (KWND/ PF)
Priscilla Leung Mei-fun
Yang Wing-kit
Wai Hoi-ying
Leung Man-kwong

List 9 (CP)
Claudia Mo Man-ching
Joe Wong Tak-chuen

Sources: Legco election official website, Legislation Council website, SCMP