Legco elections backgrounder: Kowloon East constituency

PUBLISHED : Thursday, 06 September, 2012, 4:15pm
UPDATED : Sunday, 09 September, 2012, 3:39pm

Nine candidates will be contesting the five Kowloon East seats in this year’s geographical constituency elections. The constituency, encompassing the districts of Wong Tai Sin and Kwun Tong, has an electorate base of 559,524 voters.

Candidates from the pan-democrat camp include Democrats’ Wu Ching-wai, Civic Party’s Alan Leong Ka-kit, League of Social Democrats’ Andrew To Kwan-hang, and People Power’s Wong Yeung-tat and Chan Sau-wai.

On the other side of the political spectrum, the DAB will be fielding four candidates, which include Chan Kam-lam and Lai Wing-ho. The pro-establishment camp will be facing intense competition with the pan-democrats for the constituency's newly added fifth seat, but also amongst each other.  The Hong Kong Federation of Trade Unions (FTU) has also fielded a ticket of four candidates, led by Legco councilor Wong Kwok-kin.  

Also a significant player will be lawyer and tourism functional constituency member Paul Tse Wai-chun who will also be campaigning for a seat as an independent, as will student counselor-consultant Yim Fung Chi-kay; Chan Yeung-yin and Tam Heung-man.

Kowloon East Constituency Candidates

List 1 (CP)
Alan Leong Kah-kit
Jeremy Jansen Tam Man-ho

List 2 (FTU)
Wong Kwok-kin
Kan Ming-tung
Mok Kin-wing
Ho Kai-ming

List 3 (LSD)
Andrew To Kwan-hang

List 4
Kay Yim Fung-chi
Chan Heung-yin

List 5 (DP)
Wu Chi-wai
Mok Kin-shing
Hon Ka-ming

List 6 (DAB)
Chan Kam-lam
Joe Lai Wing-ho
Hung Kam-in
Wilson Or Chong-shing

List 7
Paul Tse Wai-chun

List 8 (PP)
Wong Yeung-tat
Chan Sau-wai

List 9
Mandy Tam Heung-man

Sources: Legco Web site, 2012 Legco Elections official Web site, SCMP