Legco elections backgrounder: "Super Seats" constituency

PUBLISHED : Thursday, 06 September, 2012, 4:15pm
UPDATED : Sunday, 09 September, 2012, 5:12pm

Fierce electoral contestation over the five new seats created in light of the 2008 reforms, for District Councils representation in the functional constituency will be the highlight of this year’s Legislative Council election.

In addition to the one vote all 3.2 million voters already get for their preferred geographical constituency candidate, voters on polling day will be eligible to cast an additional vote for a candidate (nominated by the District Councillors) in the new “super seats” contest.  With more functional seats being allocated to District Council nominees, the popularly-elected District Councils will in theory, be able to gain greater bargaining power in the non-popularly elected  functional constituency.   

The pan-democrat camp, in a last-minute display of solidarity, will be looking to secure at least three of the five super seats. The Democrats have nominated Albert Ho Chun-yan and James To Kun-sun to the fore, while troubled Association for Democracy and People’s Livelihood (ADPL), recently pulling out of two  out of three geographical constituency contests, fields a two-candidate slate which will include Frederick Fun Kin-kee and Hui Kam-shing.  Chan Ka-lok and Tanya Chan will be heading the Civic Party’s ticket and Christopher Lau Gar-hung will lead for People Power.

The pro-establishment camp will be fielding three teams, led by DAB’s Starry Lee Wai-king, a lone Lau Kong-wah, and Federation of Trade Unions’ Chan Yuen-han. Joining political heavyweights and party regulars this year will be media personality and district councilor Pamela Peck, campaigning as an independent.

District Council (Second) Functional Constituency candidates

List 801 (Democratic Party)
Albert Ho Chun-yan
Kwong Chun-yu
Lam Siu-fai

List 802 (Democratic Party)
James To Kun-sun
Andrew Chiu Ka-yin
Au Nok-hin

List 803
Pamela Peck Wan-kam

List 804 (DAB)
Lau Kong-wah

List 805 (ADPL)
Frederick Fung Kin-kee
Hui Kam-shing

List 806 (DAB)
Starry Lee Wai-king
Hung Lin-cham
Chan Hok-fung
Chu Lap-wai
Ngan Man-yu

List 807 (FTU)
Chan Yuen-han
Dennis Leung Tsz-wing
Wong Yun-cheong

Sources: Legco Web site, 2012 Legco Elections official Web site, SCMP