Legco elections backgrounder: Hong Kong Island Constituency

PUBLISHED : Thursday, 06 September, 2012, 4:29pm
UPDATED : Sunday, 09 September, 2012, 3:31pm

The Hong Kong Island constituency will gain one more seat this year, bringing the total number to seven. The constituency covers the four districts of Central & Western, Wan Chai, Eastern and Southern with 606,676 eligible voters.  

The main contenders for the constituency this year include Regina Ip, former Secretary for Security and current chairwoman of the New People’s Party; Jasper Tsang Yok-sing, former DAB chairman and current president of legislative Council; Chan Ka Lok, former Civic Party chairman; Sin Chung Kai, the Democratic Party’s vice chairman, and Lau Gar-hung, founder and chairman of People Power party. Ip, Tsang, and Ho won the elections in 2008.

While FTU’s Wong Kwok-hing will make a move to the Hong Kong Island constituency for the first time, Cyd Ho Sau Lan hopes to run again representing the newly founded Labour Party and promises to tackle labour issues.

Hong Kong Island candidates

List 1
Hui Ching-on

List 2 (DP)
Sin Chung-kai
Yeung Sum
Chai Man-hon
Cheng Lai-king
Leung Suk-ching
Hui Chi-fung

List 3
Lo Wing-lok

List 4 (PP)
Christopher Lau Gar-hung
Shiu Yeuk-yuen
Jeff Au Yeung Ying-kit

List 5 (DAB)
Christopher Chung Shu-kun
Eddie Ting Kong-ho
Jennifer Chow Kit-bing
Kung Pak-cheung
Ngan Chun-lim
Kenny Lee Kwan-yee
Cheng Chi-sing

List 6
Ng Wing-chun

List 7 (LabP)
Cyd Ho Sau-lan
Cheng Sze-lut
Chung Chung-fai

List 8 (NPP)
Regina Ip Lau Suk-yee
Wong Chor-fung
Tse Tsz-kei

List 9 (FTU)
Wong Kwok-hing
Pan Pey-chyou
Chu Tin-lok
Stanley Ho Ngai-kam
Chan Chi-hang

List 10 (CP)
Chan Ka-lok
Tanya Chan
List 11
Ho Kar-tai

List 12 (DAB)

Jasper Tsang Yok-sing
List 13 (LP)

Miriam Lau Kin-yee
Shiu Ka-fai
Lee Chun-keung

List 14 (LSD)
Avery Ng Man-yuen

Sources: Legco election official website, Legislation Council Website, SCMP