Pool maintenance deadline

PUBLISHED : Wednesday, 24 May, 1995, 12:00am
UPDATED : Wednesday, 24 May, 1995, 12:00am

I REFER to letter headlined, 'Let down by pool closures' (South China Morning Post, May 9).

The Urban Council operates a total of 15 pool complexes, comprising two indoor heated pools, three outdoor heated pools and nine outdoor non-heated pools.

The schedule for pool closures for annual maintenance is a carefully co-ordinated exercise in which we take into account public demand, training needs of swimming associations and the workload of maintenance staff.

The main principle which is followed is that all pools must have been serviced to be fully operational for the peak swimming season (July to September).

Non-heated pools are closed in winter, because of very low utilisation while during this period the four heated pools, including those at Morrison Hill and Kowloon Park, remain open for the public to enjoy.

However, the heated pools which remain open during the winter must also be maintained and the only time they can be closed for this period is at the end of winter and before the start of the peak season in summer.

The important point is that all 14 Urban Council pool complexes are open during peak season. Also, four heated pools remain open during winter and when these are closed in spring there are still 10 pools available for the public.

The management of the Urban Council swimming pools is reviewed annually, when the views of the public are considered. We will certainly consider the suggestions made by the writer.

BENSON NG Staff Officer (Aquatic Venues) for Director of Urban Services