Territory duo meet Trophy criteria

PUBLISHED : Saturday, 01 February, 1997, 12:00am
UPDATED : Saturday, 01 February, 1997, 12:00am

Rahul Sharma and Mohammed Zubair have been included in the Hong Kong ICC Trophy squad who were submitted to Lord's yesterday.

All associate members had to submit a squad of 20 players, 16 plus four standbys, before today's deadline. No changes can be made.

According to the Hong Kong Cricket Association, both all-rounder Sharma and fast bowler Zubair will be able to play in the World Cup qualifying tournament if they supply affidavits supporting their claims.

Martin Lever was cleared last month by the ICC.

The ICC ruled that countries must field seven locally born players or citizens. The remaining four must meet the five-year residency rule.

Hong Kong's 16-strong playing party includes six locally born players and eight citizens. Lever and Zubair are residents.

The territory is grouped with Bermuda, Scotland, Italy and Papua New Guinea in the March 24 to April 12 one-day tournament to be played in Kuala Lumpur.

HONG KONG SQUAD From: Pat Fordham (captain - citizen), Ray Brewster (c), Stewart Brew (c), Mark Eames (c), Munir Hussain (c), Rahul Sharma (c), Mike Swift (c), Steve Foster (c), Riaz Farcy (eligible by birth), Alex French (b), David Jones (b), Kamran Raza (b), Justin Strachan (b), Ravi Sujanani (b), Martin Lever (resident), Mohammed Zubair (r). Standby: Roy Lamsam (b), Maurice Ling (b), Manoj Cheruparambil (c), Glyn Davies (c).