Hong Kong Awards for industry 1998

PUBLISHED : Thursday, 05 November, 1998, 12:00am
UPDATED : Thursday, 05 November, 1998, 12:00am

While 1997/98 has been year of transition and consolidation, it has also brought us challenges and opportunities. As an industry support organisation, the Hong Kong Productivity Council has engaged in many initiatives to enhance the productivity of companies in order to meet these challenges.

To encourage the efforts of Hong Kong's business community in attaining productivity excellence, HKPC has organised the annual Hong Kong Award for Industry: Productivity since 1990. To date, a total of eight winners have gained deserved recognition in the Hall of Fame erected by HKPC to commemorate the 10th anniversary of the award scheme.

This year's entrants came from a cross-section of industry, ranging from electrical, electronics, plastics, metal, textiles and apparel, to food and beverage, industrial coating and ceramic tiles manufacturing. They were judged on their achievements against four assessment criteria: productivity drive, value-creation, resources optimisation, and productivity results.

Since all the applicants have demonstrated outstanding performance and overall productivity growth, the judging panel had a daunting task in selecting the main winner. We are pleased to announce that Philips Semiconductors-Electronic Devices Ltd has been chosen as the winner of the 1998 Hong Kong Award for Industry: Productivity.

Five companies were awarded the HKPC Productivity Award. They include Chee Yuen Industrial Co Ltd, Group Sense (International) Ltd, Hong Yuen Electronics Ltd, IDT International-LCD Consumer Electronic Products Division and Motorola Semiconductors Hong Kong.

The 12 companies to receive HKPC Certificates of Merit in Productivity are Anex Electronic Co Ltd, Aqua Pure Distilled Water Co Ltd, Biu Chun Watch Hands & Parts Manufacturers, Carven Circuits Ltd, Companion-China Ltd, Heraeus Ltd, Hi-Tech Mold Manufacturing Co Ltd, Hong Tat Manufactory Enterprise Co Ltd, Hoshing Telecom Ltd, Karrie Industrial Co Ltd, Manfield Coatings Co Ltd and Sonopress Pan Asia Ltd.

Finally, I would like to congratulate the winning companies on their achievements and thank the distinguished panel of judges, chaired by Denis Chang Khen-lee and the HKPC assessment team, led by the external consultant, Yasushi Fukuda, for their invaluable contributions during the assessment and selection process of this year's award.

KENNETH FANG Chairman, Hong Kong Productivity Council