Top aide on list of new faces for CPPCC

PUBLISHED : Friday, 24 January, 2003, 12:00am
UPDATED : Monday, 03 October, 2016, 5:52pm


Related topics

The government's top adviser, Lau Siu-kai, will be on the list of new appointments to the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference (CPPCC) when the announcement is made tomorrow.

Professor Lau, head of the Central Policy Unit, yesterday confirmed he had been nominated as a local delegate to the CPPCC, which advises the central government.

Former Housing Authority chief Rosanna Wong Yick-ming, now chairwoman of the Education Commission, is also on the list. Ms Wong was one of the senior officials held partly responsible for a series of construction site scandals in 1999, in a Legislative Council report released on Wednesday.

The CPPCC list, due to include more than 30 new faces, is expected to see more younger delegates and Hong Kong legislators than in the past.

The CPPCC session is scheduled for March. Its Standing Committee is expected to endorse the list of about 2,200 delegates, including nearly 200 from Hong Kong and Macau, at its meeting today.

Professor Lau was a member of the now-defunct preparatory committee for the handover.

Ms Wong resigned from the Housing Authority in June 2000. She was not available for comment yesterday.

Other new faces include executive councillor Andrew Liao Cheung-sing, former executive councillors Nellie Fong Wong Kut-man and Tam Yiu-chung, Housing Society chairman Chung Shui-ming as well as legislator Chan Kam-lam.

The CPPCC will enforce the age ceiling of 70 on Hong Kong delegates, meaning veteran SAR delegates such as Xu Simin are expected to retire.