Members reappointed to Basic Law Committee

PUBLISHED : Thursday, 28 August, 2003, 12:00am
UPDATED : Thursday, 28 August, 2003, 12:00am

Talks were held in Beijing yesterday to discuss the future work of the Basic Law Committee after the reappointment of members.

The 12-member committee decided to meet whenever it was necessary to deal with issues relating to four provisions of the Basic Law.

Five-year terms for the committee members were approved yesterday by National People's Congress Standing Committee chairman Wu Bangguo. Six of the panel members - Maria Tam Wai-chu, Raymond Wu Wai-yung, Wong Po-yan, Ng Hong-man, Anthony Neoh and Albert Chen Hung-yee - come from Hong Kong.

Qiao Xiaoyang, head of the legislative affairs commission of the NPC, was reappointed as chairman of the Basic Law Committee, with Mr Wong as vice-chairman.

After the meeting, Ms Tam said the committee's work in the coming year would be similar to that of the past year. 'We will hold meetings to discuss issues relating to Articles 17, 18, 158 and 159 under the Basic Law whenever it is necessary,' she said. Article 17 specifies the legislative power of the Hong Kong government, while Article 18 states when national laws may be applied in Hong Kong. The other two provisions cover the powers of interpretation and amendment set out under the Basic Law.