Key to the lists . . . | South China Morning Post
  • Sun
  • Mar 29, 2015
  • Updated: 2:55am

Key to the lists . . .

PUBLISHED : Saturday, 15 November, 2003, 12:00am
UPDATED : Saturday, 15 November, 2003, 12:00am

Postgraduate Certificate or Diploma: awards for standalone taught programmes or for successfully completing a specified number of courses (but not the thesis/dissertation) on a master's programme.

Master of Arts (MA), Master of Science (MSc): taught programmes usually taken full-time over one year, or two years part-time. What is categorised as arts and science varies between institutions, although MAs are associated more with the humanities, and MScs with the sciences. The lines blur in the business arena.

Master of Business Administration (MBA) The MBA is the business equivalent of the MA or MSc. The Executive MBA, usually more expensive, is targeted at senior business people and involves a more interactive teaching approach.

Master of Philosophy (MPhil): two-year full-time or four-year part-time research programmes, often with a taught element.

Doctor of Philosophy (PhD): extended research programme that normally takes at least three years to finish.

Other awards: Australian universities in particular use more specialist names for their qualifications. In our directory, these are spelt out in full.


For unlimited access to: SCMP Tablet Edition SCMP Mobile Edition 10-year news archive



Login Account