Key points

PUBLISHED : Tuesday, 14 September, 2004, 12:00am
UPDATED : Tuesday, 14 September, 2004, 12:00am


1,784,140 votes, equal to 55.63pc of electorate

Seats won

Pro-democracy camp: 25

DAB, Liberal Party & others: 35

DAB now the largest party in Legco (12 seats), followed by Liberal Party (10 seats) and Democratic Party (9 seats)

Surprise winners

Leung Kwok-hung (April Fifth Action Group/New Territories East), Cheung Hok-ming (DAB/New Territories West), Li Kwok-ying (DAB/New Territories East), Mandy Tam Heung-man (accountancy), Kwok Ka-ki (medical)

Surprise losers

Cyd Ho Sau-lan (The Frontier/Hong Kong Island), Andrew Wong Wang-fat

(non-affiliated/New Territories East), Wong Sing-chi (Democratic Party/New Territories East)