Ex-leaders line up

PUBLISHED : Thursday, 25 November, 2004, 12:00am
UPDATED : Thursday, 25 November, 2004, 12:00am

Former South African president F.W. de Klerk has assembled an impressive list of fellow ex-leaders for his Global Leadership Foundation, which aims to resolve problems facing the world's governments.

Apart from Mr de Klerk, his country's leader from 1989 to 1994, other members to sign up so

far are:

Anson Chan Fang On-sang, chief secretary of Hong Kong (1993-2001)

Lord Hurd of Westwell, Britain's home secretary (1985-1989); foreign secretary (1989-1995)

Mike Moore, prime minister of New Zealand (1990); secretary-general of the World Trade Organisation (1999-2002)

Fidel Ramos, president of the Philippines (1992-1998)

I.K. Gujral, prime minister of India (1997-1998)

Prince El Hassan bin Talal of Jordan

Kaspar Villiger, president of Switzerland (1995-2002)

Johannes Rau, president of Germany (1999-2004)

Ketumile Masire, president of Botswana (1980-1998)

Abdul Karim al-Iryani, prime minister of Yemen (1998-2001)

Anibal Cavaco Silva, prime minister of Portugal (1985-1995)

Michel Rocard, prime minister of France (1988-1991)

Cassam Uteem, president of Mauritius (1992-1998)

Baroness Chalker of Wallasey, Britain's minister of overseas development (1989-1997)

Carla Hills, US special trade representative (1989-1993)

Chester Crocker, US assistant secretary for African affairs (1981-1989)

Hans van den Broek, foreign minister of the Netherlands (1982-1993); member of the European Commission (1993-1999)