Junior tenpin bowlers battle for honours

PUBLISHED : Friday, 08 April, 2005, 12:00am
UPDATED : Friday, 08 April, 2005, 12:00am

Hong Kong's best young players are taking on their regional rivals at the eighth Asian Schools Tenpin Bowling Championships in Indonesia this week.

A total of 15 teams from nine Asian countries are competing for glory at the Jaya Ancol Bowling Centre in Jakarta. The Hong Kong Tenpin Bowling Congress has sent two, four-member boys' teams to the annual competition.

The Hong Kong team comprise Eric Tseng Tak-hin, Kam Siu-lin, Derek Tong Yiu-fai, Mark Lau Kwun-ho, Ken Lin Ka-yat, Carlos Lai Ka-long, Michael Tsang Pak-kei and Derek Lee Tak-man.

Among the participants at this year's meet are newly-crowned Malaysian International Open champion, Siti Safiyah Amirah of Malaysia, and 15-year-old ABF Tour (Malaysia leg) winner, Amanda Ng of Singapore.

'These young athletes are the best in their country, some are world class already, and it is not a secret that most Asian school champions become future world-class bowlers,' said Ongki P Soemarno, who heads the competition's organising committee.

Hong Kong, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and hosts Indonesia have each entered two teams, while Brunei, Chinese Taipei and Japan have sent one team each.

The competition began on Tuesday with both boys' and girls' singles, followed by the Team of Four and doubles.

The top 16 boys and girls based on points scored in all events will qualify for the Masters Finals to be played today and tomorrow.

Singapore had an excellent start when Travis Tay, Benjamin Lim and Wong Han Wei finished first, second and third, respectively, for a clean sweep of the boys' singles medals. Travis scored 1,356 points. Mark Lau was the top Hong Kong performer, finishing in 10th place with 1,246.

Sharon Koh of Malaysia won the girls' singles title. She sealed the win with a strong 224 in the last game for a total 1,326 pinfalls. Amanda Ng scored 225 in her final game to snatch the silver medal with 1,296, while Japan's Kyoko Kamagahara took the bronze with 1,294.