e-pal

PUBLISHED : Sunday, 26 March, 2006, 12:00am
UPDATED : Sunday, 26 March, 2006, 12:00am
 

Name: Raoul Schikora


Age:16


Country/ City: Germany, Berlin


School: Sophie Charlotte Oberschule


Star sign: Sagittarius


I like to tell jokes and meet new people. I think I'm open-minded too.


I'm an exchange student with the AFS Intercultural Exchanges of Hong Kong and am originally from Wilmersdorf, which is a suburb of Berlin.


Germany is home to people from many different cultures. Each district has unique characteristics.


I study a wide range of subjects at school: German, English, French, history, mathematics, physics, chemistry, biology, geography, art, music and physical education. I spend about 90 minutes each day doing homework.


During weekends, I usually hang out with my friends at their homes. Sometimes we chill out in cafes, go swimming or play sports, such as football or basketball.


I'm a sporty person. Jogging is one of my favourite activities because it gives me a sense of satisfaction and is a good way to keep healthy.


My favourite idol is American tennis player Andre Agassi, because I love playing tennis. He's a successful tennis player who has won eight Grand Slam singles titles and is only one of five players to have won all four Grand Slam event categories.


During summer holidays, I usually travel to southern Europe, visiting countries such as Italy, France, Greece or Spain. In winter, I'll ski in the Alps.


My parents are open-minded. If I've done something wrong, they might shout at me, but they won't punish me.


I don't have a pet. But when I was a child, I always wanted to have a dog.


I need to make my own lunch if my parents are not at home. I usually have a simple dish, such as spaghetti or pancakes. For dinner, we usually have potatoes, rice or noodles with some meat and sauce.


I receive about Euro75 ($700) each month for pocket money. I spend some of it on clothes - jeans, T-shirts, pullovers and jackets.


I like the colour red and some shades of brown and yellow too.


If you plan to visit Germany, I recommend visiting the southern part of the country, which has many traditional towns. There are many tourist attractions, such as the magnificent Neuschwanstein Castle was built between 1869 and 1886 for King Ludwig II of Bavaria.


You might also want to visit Hamburg, a wonderful city with a big harbour, and Berlin, where there's always a lot going on.


If you want to make friends with teens from other countries, send an e-mail to yp.epal@scmp.com. Sunday Young Post will forward all e-mails to Raoul.


Share

Send to a friend

To forward this article using your default email client (e.g. Outlook), click here.

e-pal

Enter multiple addresses separated by commas(,)

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Image CAPTCHA
Enter the characters shown in the image.