• Thu
  • Dec 18, 2014
  • Updated: 4:28pm


PUBLISHED : Sunday, 07 May, 2006, 12:00am
UPDATED : Sunday, 07 May, 2006, 12:00am

Name: Steven Lars Rikard Engstrom

Age: 16

Country/city: Sweden, Stockholm

School: L'estradska

Star sign: Virgo

I'm a guy who likes having fun and being with friends, and I like sports even though I don't play many any more. Generally speaking, most teenagers in Sweden are open, curious and like to travel.

My country is very cold in winter and there is also a fair bit of snow, so you sometimes get sick of it. Summer, on the other hand, is usually really nice, although it can be a bit rainy.

My family and I live on an island, pretty close to the centre of Stockholm. It is very green, so I can enjoy the city and a suburban environment at the same time.

The subjects I do are maths, English, Swedish, Spanish, geography, history, social science, natural science, biology, philosophy, psychology, PE and some additional subjects that I have not chosen yet.

I spend a few hours a week on my homework, but the exact amount of time differs from week to week.

Sweden is a welfare state and the government spends a lot of money on different subsidies. For example, I receive 950 Swedish Krona ($1,000) from the government as a study fund.

My family consists of me, my dad and my mom. We are a family that is pretty open to most things.

For meals, we eat everything from pancakes to pasta. Sometimes I cook, though not too often.

I also help around the house with the laundry and some cleaning. Of course, I do other things too, but not on a regular basis.

In my spare time, I do a lot of things. During the daytime, I go to cafes, and in the evening, I go to parties. I also like listening to music. I like all different types of music but I am not a big fan of heavy metal.

I used to play soccer and European handball. Now, I play a bit of tennis too. I also have a moped that I use a lot, except in the winter when it snows.

For holidays, I go to places both in Sweden and overseas. Every year, we go to visit my cousins who live on a farm in the south of Sweden. In the summer we swim and sail on the lake near their farm.

We also go abroad every year, often to Australia because my parents work with some schools there.

In Sweden, we celebrate the summer solstice around June 21 every year. It is the day of the year with the most hours of daylight.

Another important festival is Christmas. We celebrate it by eating a lot of good food on Christmas Eve and after that we give out presents. And, of course, we have Christmas trees and Santa Claus for the children.

If you want to make friends with teens from other countries, send an e-mail to yp.epal@scmp.com. Sunday Young Post will forward all e-mails to Steven.


Related topics

For unlimited access to:

SCMP.com SCMP Tablet Edition SCMP Mobile Edition 10-year news archive




SCMP.com Account