Hong Kong Rugby Union

Gregory takes over from Molloy as HKRFU chief

PUBLISHED : Friday, 30 June, 2006, 12:00am
UPDATED : Friday, 30 June, 2006, 12:00am

Hong Kong businessman Trevor Gregory was last night elected as chairman of the Hong Kong Rugby Football Union following the retirement of the long-serving John Molloy.

Gregory, a former director and secretary of the union, won a close vote over Leighton Duley and Martin Downey.

'With the game evolving so rapidly it is an absolute necessity for club structures to remain strong to ensure the overall prosperity of the sport.' Gregory said.

'I look forward to working with the clubs to achieve this.'

Gregory has been involved with rugby administration for 18 years, and previously held the positions of secretary and director of youth with the union, and chairman of the DeA rugby club. Gregory, along with Ian Brownlee, Paul Dingley and Mike Haynes, were elected to the board at the union's annual general meeting last night. Returning board members Ruth Mitchell and Colin Olsen were also re-elected.

Molloy, who chose not to stand for re-election after serving three consecutive two-year terms, said: 'I have confidence the union will be in good hands and the developments over the years will not only be maintained in the future but will be added to with new enthusiasm and initiative.'

HKRFU board: Trevor Gregory (chairman), Andrew Sum, Pieter Schats, Paul Mallen, Richard Mallet, Colin Olsen, Ruth Mitchell, Paul Dingley, Ian Brownlee, Mike Haynes.