e-pal

PUBLISHED : Monday, 18 December, 2006, 12:00am
UPDATED : Monday, 18 December, 2006, 12:00am

Name: Arushi Datta


Age: 14


City/Country: New Delhi, India


School name: Delhi Public School, R. K. Puram


Star sign: Gemini


I live with an extended family. My grandparents live on the ground floor of my house and my parents and I live on the first floor.


My parents work during the day and come home in the evening, so I spend some of my time upstairs and some of it downstairs. Supper on weekdays is usually Indian food, such as rice or roti (flat bread), along with pulses and vegetables, or a curry with chicken or fish.


On weekends, we eat out and try different cuisines. I don't cook proper meals, but I'll make myself some toast, a sandwich or an omelette when I'm hungry. I receive 150 rupees (HK$26) in pocket money each month, but I don't spend it all. My parents buy most of the things I need, so I spend my allowance on snacks or stationery.


I'm allowed to go out at night with my closest friends and even sleep over at their homes, but only after my parents have talked to their parents. When I do something wrong, I get a scolding. Sometimes my parents threaten to withhold my pocket money or forbid me from going on outings.


At school, I study English, maths, science (biology, physics and chemistry), social studies (civics, geography and history), computer science and French. I spend between one to two hours a day on homework. I also study on weekends, as there is a weekly test on Mondays.


During my spare time, my friends and I eat at a fast-food restaurant or watch a movie. I sometimes go bowling or spend the day at a friend's house. I also like to read, listen to music and chat with my friends on the phone or online. Writing poetry is my favourite pastime.


I go on holiday with my family. We go to hill stations in India, such as Ranikhet or Kasauli, or visit beach resorts, such as Goa. We travel overseas once every three years, mostly to the United States, where we have relatives.


I don't have to do much housework except for cleaning my room, computer and electronic music keyboard.


The best thing about India is the people. The country has diverse cultures and people from different religions live together in peace. There is very little discrimination on the basis of caste or religion. The citizens are warm, welcoming and co-operative.


My idol is Amy Lee, the lead singer of the rock band Evanescence. She has a strong, beautiful voice and is a very skilful singer.


If you want to make friends with teens from other countries, send an e-mail to yp.epal@scmp.com. Young Post will forward all e-mails to Arushi, but cannot guarantee a reply.


 

Promotions

 
 
 

You may also like