• Fri
  • Oct 31, 2014
  • Updated: 3:07am

e-pal

PUBLISHED : Sunday, 14 January, 2007, 12:00am
UPDATED : Sunday, 14 January, 2007, 12:00am

Name: Mirko Patricio Rodriguez


Age: 14


City/ Country: Latacunga/ Ecuador


School name: Hermano Miguel


Star sign: Gemini


My city is one of Ecuador's plateau towns, and the capital of Cotopaxi Province. It is located next to the Cotopaxi volcano. We have a beautiful park and there are many Catholic churches.


The weather in my country varies. In my city, the weather is usually cold but sometimes sunny.


In the rest of the country, the weather is hot and humid.


In school, I study physics, maths, literature, science, religion, social science, history, drawing and PE.


My favourite subject is physics. I like anything related to numbers.


My school life is stressful because we have so much homework. Every day I spend about three or four hours on my homework.


Still, school is a great place to meet great and real friends.


My first language is Spanish and I can speak a bit of English.


In my spare time, I usually go out with friends to play football and hang out around the city.


For holidays, we usually go to the beach, or visit other cities to find new places and things to do.


For example, last holiday we went to Ibarra to visit the wonderful markets, see the lakes and go swimming.


Otherwise I usually read, listen to music and play the guitar.


I like different kinds of music. My favourite bands are Keane and the Latin band Moderato.


I like football because it's exciting. I also practice tae kwon do.


I like casual wear such as jeans and T-shirts. I always buy my own clothes.


My relationship with my family is good because we talk honestly about our problems and we always do things together.


But I think my family is a little bit crazy. We like to joke about each other.


My dad is my idol and my role model. He is very hardworking, smart and generous.


Sometimes I have to cook, but I don't like cooking. My favourite dish is cuy, or guinea pig. It's a traditional dish in my country, although I know people in other countries keep them as pets.


We have to share our household chores. I usually clean the floor and wash the dishes.


I like the biodiversity of my country. You can find many species of plants and animals in just a small place. It's beautiful.


Corpus Christi is a special festival which is popular mostly in the highlands. It is celebrated in the provinces of Chimborazo, Tungurahua, Cotopaxi and Loja.


This festival is celebrated in different ways according to the tradition of each town. People usually have huge parades and parties.


I'm quite a shy person. I need time to get to know people. I'm also generous and funny - I love to joke.


I think the teenagers in my country are open, a little crazy yet friendly.


I still don't know what I want to do in the future. I'm just enjoying the present.


If you want to make friends with teens from other countries, send an e-mail to yp.epal@scmp.com. Sunday Young Post will forward all e-mails to Mirko.


Share

For unlimited access to:

SCMP.com SCMP Tablet Edition SCMP Mobile Edition 10-year news archive
 
 

 

 
 
 
 
 

Login

SCMP.com Account

or