• Mon
  • Dec 22, 2014
  • Updated: 1:19am

e-pal

PUBLISHED : Sunday, 01 April, 2007, 12:00am
UPDATED : Sunday, 01 April, 2007, 12:00am
 

Name: Mauricio Duenas


Age: 19


City/ Country: Latacunga/ Ecuador


School name: Catholic University


Star sign: Gemini


I like to have fun and I really enjoy my life. I try to handle problems in a calm way rather than worrying too much. I enjoy making new friends, and I like people who are positive, happy and honest.


In Ecuador, we have all sorts of weather conditions: burning heat, humidity and freezing cold.


My hometown gets really cold - about nine to 13 degrees Celsius. This is because of the altitude: 2785m above sea level.


Since I started university, I have been living in Quito, the capital of Ecuador.


I live there from Monday to Friday, and at the weekend, I travel back to Latacunga to visit my family.


Quito is a busy city and there are lots of things to do.


I study law. The subjects I take are penal law, business juridical law, organic law and international law.


Spanish is my first language and I also speak some English.


My school life is very busy. I spend most of my time doing school work.


But when I have free time, I hang out with my friends.


We like dancing, playing football and basketball, going to the movies and travelling around the city, finding new places to eat and hang out.


At university, we have the opportunity to meet people from all over Ecuador. I love that.


In the future, I want to be a lawyer, or get a job working on the environmental situation in Ecuador.


I would like to help the people of my country.


During the holidays, I go horse riding - I like anything related to animals. Sometimes I go to the beach if the weather is fine.


My favourite sport is football. It's good for the body and requires team work.


I'm the youngest of four children. My relationship with my two brothers and sister is really good. We can laugh about anything.


My relationship with my parents is also good. But I think we've become even closer since I moved to Quito to study.


Since I live alone, I have to do all my own household chores.


I usually end up ordering pizza and Chinese food so that I don't have to cook. I seldom make breakfast or dinner.


Most of the time I wear casual and comfortable clothes.


But at some point in the future, it's likely that I will have to wear suits for work.


My idol is Eva Peron (Evita). I think she was a great leader and she motivated a lot of South American people.


Even though Ecuador is a small country, it is very diverse.


We have four regions: the coastal region (with the beaches and the hot weather), the sierra region (very cold and full of mountains and volcanoes), the Amazon region (very humid, with wonderful rainforests and exotic animals) and finally the Galapagos Islands (where Charles Darwin developed his theory of natural selection).


In Ecuador, we have many festivals. But one of the most important is the party at the end of the year.


Each family makes a puppet which represents a member of the family or a famous person.


The idea is to burn the puppet at midnight to say goodbye to the old year. Then we celebrate through the night with dance and music.


If you want to make friends with teens from other countries, send an e-mail to yp.epal@scmp.com. Sunday Young Post will forward all e-mails to Mauricio.


Share

Related topics

For unlimited access to:

SCMP.com SCMP Tablet Edition SCMP Mobile Edition 10-year news archive
 
 

 

 
 
 
 
 

Login

SCMP.com Account

or