• Tue
  • Sep 16, 2014
  • Updated: 2:12pm

e-pal

PUBLISHED : Sunday, 08 April, 2007, 12:00am
UPDATED : Sunday, 08 April, 2007, 12:00am

Name: Mourad Latoui


Age: 17


City/ Country: Algiers/Algeria


Name of school: INPS (National Institute of Planning and Statistics)


Star sign: Gemini


Algiers is a busy and charming coastal city with many historical and tourist spots.


The architecture is an amazing mix of old Turkish houses, classical French buildings and modern high-rises.


The weather here is very pleasant. Winters are never really cold and summers are rarely extremely hot.


I study planning and statistics. It is a mix of mathematics and general statistics, but it also involves languages (French and English), geography, economics, computer science and law.


My school life is really busy. With all my projects, exams and revision, I don't have much time to relax.


I have to get good marks this year, otherwise I won't be able to choose the subjects I want to study next year.


I have two mother-tongue languages. I was raised speaking both Arabic and French.


I'm currently learning English which is now my favourite language and I hope I'll master it soon.


I used to go to the movies or swimming with my friends when I was at high school.


But because of my busy schedule this year, I can't see them very often. We just talk on phone or have lunch together on campus.


In my free time, I sleep! I know this sounds lazy, but I am so tired from school, and I don't have a hobby such as sport or music anyway.


My resolution for 2007 was to do something useful in my spare time. I haven't managed that yet.


When I was younger, we used to go to Spain for our summer holidays. We also went to Greece once. But these days we usually just go to the beach.


My parents are divorced and I live with my mum. I have an elder brother. We get along really since we are close in age. I usually get on quite well with both my parents.


I don't have enough time to go home for lunch, so I eat fast food such as sandwiches, pizza, shish kebabs or hamburgers and fries with a lot of mayonnaise and ketchup.


My mum's a pretty good cook. She prepares dinner most of time, but when she's not home, I'm a great eggs scrambler!


I like comfy and practical clothes such as jeans and sporty shoes.


I'm not a fashion victim - I'm happy as long as my clothes fit me.


I buy my own clothes twice a year in a single shopping trip - I'm not really into shopping.


Like all teenagers, I don't think I get enough pocket money. But my mum pays for everything, even when I go out with my friends, so I can't really complain.


I was also lucky enough to get a scholarship for my university studies.


I don't know if I can be objective about myself. I'd say I'm funny, open-minded, cultured, tolerant, curious and shy.


But sometimes I'm impatient and I can get easily annoyed at people. I can be moody, sometimes I'm a little bit selfish and I can be greedy. But at least I'm honest!


I'm not sure about what I want to do in the future. I'd like to work as a palaeontologist (a scientist who studies fossils) one day, but I won't be able to do that with what I'm currently studying. Maybe I'll just keep it as a hobby.


But I do know that I want to travel around the world.


The most important festival for Algerians is 'mouloud'.


It's a religious feast and we celebrate it by preparing a family dinner, lighting candles and setting off firecrackers and fireworks. Somewhat ironically, these are all made in China!


If you want to make friends with teens from other countries, send an e-mail to yp.epal@scmp.com. Sunday Young Post will forward all e-mails to Mourad.


Share

For unlimited access to:

SCMP.com SCMP Tablet Edition SCMP Mobile Edition 10-year news archive
 
 

 

 
 
 
 
 

Login

SCMP.com Account

or