• Fri
  • Sep 19, 2014
  • Updated: 6:29pm

Getting there

PUBLISHED : Friday, 20 July, 2007, 12:00am
UPDATED : Friday, 20 July, 2007, 12:00am

Cathay Pacific (2747 1888; www.cathaypacific.com) and Air New Zealand (2862 8988; www.airnewzealand.com.hk) operate direct flights to Auckland, Wellington, Christchurch and Queenstown. Flying time is about 11 to 15 hours.


ORIENTATION


Because some golf courses are far away from the international airports, taking flights to local airports located near the golf courses is the best way. Airlines such as Eagle Airways (+64 7 857 1000; www.eagleair.co.nz) and Air New Zealand (+64 9 357 3000); www.airnewzealand.co.nz/travelinfo/routes/new_zealand_


routes.htm) under the Air New Zealand Link may offer special discounts. Hiring a car is the best way to reach the golf courses from the airport. Major car rental companies include Car Rental New Zealand (+64 9 2756333; www.carrentalsnz.net.nz); Queenstown Car Rentals (+64 3 4429220; www.queenstowncarrentals.co.nz); Euro Car Rental New Zealand Limited (+64 03 3602870; www.eurocarrental.co.nz) and About New Zealand Rental Cars (+64 3 3666094; www.rentalcar.co.nz). Golf courses such as Kauri Cliffs and Cape Kidnappers offer transfer services to and from the airport.


WHERE TO STAY


Lakes Resort Pauanui and Millbrook provide accommodation. Here is a list of hotels:


3-Star New President Hotel Auckland (+64 9 3031333; www.newpresidenthotel.co.nz); Aspen On Queenstown (+64 3 442 7688; www.queenstownhotel.com); Aitken On Mulgrave Hotel Wellington (+64 4 9161205; www.wellingtoncityhotel.co.nz/); Camelot Cathedral Square Hotel Christchurch (+64 3 3652898; www.thecamelot.co.nz); McLean Park Lodge Motel Napier (+64 6 8354422; www.napieraccommodation.com/property.php?id=mcleanpk); and Viking Lodge Motel Arrowtown (+64 3 4421765; www.vikinglodge.co.nz).


4-Star Grand Mercure Hotel St Moritz Queenstown (+64 3 4424990; www.mercurestmoritz.nz-hotels.com/); James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor Wellington (+64 4 4999500; www.ghihotels.com); Hotel Grand Chancellor Christchurch (+64 3 3792999; www.ghihotels.com) and Bella Tuscany on Kennedy Napier (+64 6 8439129; www.bellatuscany.co.nz).


5-Star Hyatt Regency Auckland (+64 9 3551234; http://auckland.regency.hyatt.com); Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa (+64 3 4500045; www.sofitelqueenstown.com); InterContinental Hotel Wellington (+64 4 4722722; www.intercontinental.com/wellington); Merivale Manor Christchurch (+64 3 3557731; www.merivalemanor.com) and Cobden Villa Napier (+64 6 8359065; www.cobdenvilla.com).


Share

For unlimited access to:

SCMP.com SCMP Tablet Edition SCMP Mobile Edition 10-year news archive
 
 

 

 
 
 
 
 

Login

SCMP.com Account

or