• Sat
  • Jul 26, 2014
  • Updated: 2:03am

e-pal

PUBLISHED : Wednesday, 29 August, 2007, 12:00am
UPDATED : Wednesday, 29 August, 2007, 12:00am

Name: Naja Baldwin


Age: 20


City/country: Paris/France


Star sign: Capricorn


Typical Parisian weather is rain and grey skies. Paris has become quite polluted over the past few years.


From my 11th floor apartment, I can often see smog over the city.


I have had quite a varied education.


After high school, I studied graphic design at the Instituto Europeo di Design in Milan. I studied everything from typography, theory of colour and computer programs to history of modern art and semiotics.


After my year there, I decided to change my academic direction and enrolled in New York University. My first language is French, although my English may actually be better. I speak Italian because I use it with my Italian grandmother. I also studied Spanish in school - the structure is almost identical to Italian.


My mother's first language is German, so I can speak a little German, too. I was really lucky to grow up in Switzerland, where there are three official languages: French, German and Italian.


During summer, I like to spend time in parks, such as the Parc de la Villette. In July and August, there's an open-air cinema that shows films for free.


I also love sitting on cafe terraces, sipping coffee and watching people.


I like to rollerblade. It's a common activity in Paris, because it's a flat city with wide sidewalks. Skateboarding is popular, too, although I can't really do it.


I also really enjoy capoeira, the Brazilian martial art. I started taking classes in Milan, and it's becoming increasingly popular in Paris.


At night, my friends and I like to go to clubs, especially if there's a good DJ in town. I like house music and funk which, fortunately, are played at the best clubs in Paris.


I also love to browse in music stores, bookstores, and of course, clothes shops. I wear a lot of black except for my shoes, which tend to be rather unusual. I am slightly obsessed with trainers. Right now, my favourites are a pair of brown tweed high-top Nikes. I enjoy spicing up an outfit with coloured jewellery or big earrings.


My favourite cuisine is Italian. My mother is half-Italian, and I was raised on Italian food. My favourite dish is pasta with a lemon and olive sauce. But since I started to live in Paris, I also enjoy a good entrecote (steak) and strong cheeses.


Fete de la Musique is an important music festival here. On June 21, there are concerts all over the city. You can't sleep because it's so noisy. There is also Bastille Day, the national holiday that celebrates the taking of the Bastille (a prison) during the French Revolution.


I'm quite shy at first, but once I get comfortable, I am stubborn and opinionated. But I am generous and would do anything for my friends. I don't necessarily enjoy stress, but I like to have lots going on at the same time - that way, I never get bored!


If you want to make friends with Naja, send an e-mail to yp.epal@scmp.com.


Young Post will forward all e-mails to her, but we cannot guarantee a reply.


Share

For unlimited access to:

SCMP.com SCMP Tablet Edition SCMP Mobile Edition 10-year news archive
 
 

 

 
 
 
 
 

Login

SCMP.com Account

or