• Wed
  • Jul 23, 2014
  • Updated: 8:21pm

argentina

PUBLISHED : Sunday, 16 September, 2007, 12:00am
UPDATED : Sunday, 16 September, 2007, 12:00am

Connecting with teens from around the world


Name Alexander Ezequiel Cardenas


Age 17


City Santiago del Estero


Star sign Scorpio


Argentina has a mix of weather - the south is very cold and the north is very hot. In my home town, which is in northern Argentina, it can be around 40-50 degrees Celsius in the summer. But unlike Hong Kong, Santiago del Estero is dry, so you don't sweat much.


I study economics, philosophy, psychology, methodology of investigation, religion, P.E., Spanish literature, politic sciences, French, Latin, Greek literature and global culture. I spend around one and a half hours each day on my homework.


My first language is Spanish and I can also speak English, French, Arabic and Italian. Now since I have joined the AFS exchange programme and live with my host family in Sha Tin, I can speak a little bit of Cantonese.


I just started at Po Leung Kuk Vicwood K. T. Chong Sixth Form College. In Argentina, I have a great relationship with my classmates and teachers and I can share all sorts of things with them. I hope school life in Hong Kong will be as enjoyable.


I really love the landscape and the food in my country.


For dinner I eat beef and a variety of vegetables. I don't have to cook because my mum does it. But I have to do housework. I clean and tidy the house and sometimes do the washing-up. I also have to look after my pets - I love animals, and I keep a lot of pet birds.


My friends and I go to parties at each others' houses, or sometimes eat out at restaurants. We like listening to music, eating, talking a lot and dancing.


I like making friends, reading, listening to music and walking around new places. During the holidays, I visit other cities in Argentina with my family or friends.


I don't really follow fashion. I like casual wear such as T-shirts, jeans, tennis shoes or sandals, and I buy my own clothes.


My idol is my father, because he taught me everything I know and the way I should deal with life. He's a great role model.


I would describe myself as a friendly, happy, and curious person. I like rock and pop music, and I like horror movies.


In Argentina, teenagers are generally good people, but they spend too much time having fun and don't study or develop their personalities enough.


I want to be a graduate in International relationships and travel around the world in the future.


The most important festival in Argentina is Independence Day on July 9. We celebrate with ceremonies in parks and national buildings.


I had never been overseas before I came to Hong Kong.


I think it's a wonderful and amazing place, where you can find a little bit of all the countries in the world and a great mix of east and west.


Share

For unlimited access to:

SCMP.com SCMP Tablet Edition SCMP Mobile Edition 10-year news archive
 
 

 

 
 
 
 
 

Login

SCMP.com Account

or