• Fri
  • Aug 29, 2014
  • Updated: 2:03pm

e-pal: germany

PUBLISHED : Sunday, 09 December, 2007, 12:00am
UPDATED : Sunday, 09 December, 2007, 12:00am

Connecting with teens around the world

Name Sean Michael Siewers

Age 17

City Kiel

Star sign Virgin

Kiel is a city with 300,000 people near the Baltic Sea.

In Germany, the temperature stays around 13 degrees Celsius for most of the year. The weather is mainly rainy and stormy - only during summer does the temperature go up to 25 degrees, and we get some sunshine.

I study German, English, maths, geography, science, economics and sport. On normal days, I spend one hour doing homework. But if I have extra work or a presentation to prepare, I need to spend more time studying.

In the future, I hope to finish school and search for a job related to economics.

I'm always very happy during the holidays because I'm fortunate enough to be able to travel to a lot of different countries with my parents.

My first language is German and my second language is English.

I would describe myself as sporty, friendly, reserved and consider myself a very lucky person.

I like R&B music, and my favourite movie is The Simpson's Movie. I don't have an idol as such, but I have always looked up to my father.

I wear simple clothes, like jeans, shirts and sweatshirts, that I buy myself. Brand names aren't important to me.

In my free time I do a lot of sports, play on the computer, meet with friends and sometimes I go fishing with my dad.

I usually hang out with my friends at home, in the park or in town. We play basketball and football, go to the cinema and sometimes the beach.

My favourite sport is basketball because I like to win and play in teams as well as playing the sport with my friends.

I eat everything my mum cooks. Every now and then I help her cook traditional German cuisine.

My housework generally involves me helping my mum in the kitchen and with the dishes, tidying my room, working in the garden and buying groceries.

Teenagers in Germany have all sorts of attitudes and dreams, but my friends are very much like me.

An important festival in our country is the Kieler Woche. It's the biggest sailing event in the world. Some people celebrate it by partying for a week, while others celebrate by actually getting involved and go sailing.

I'm an AFS exchange student in Hong Kong and live with my host family in Tai Po. I attend school at the HK & KLN Kaifong Women's Association Sun Fong Chun. Lessons run from 8am to 1pm.

I have 20 schoolmates and five teachers, and we have a very relaxed relationship.

I hope to stay in Hong Kong to learn and see different and interesting things. This is my first time in Hong Kong, so I'm very excited about the future.

Share

For unlimited access to:

SCMP.com SCMP Tablet Edition SCMP Mobile Edition 10-year news archive
 
 

 

 
 
 
 
 

Login

SCMP.com Account

or