• Wed
  • Apr 16, 2014
  • Updated: 5:49pm

e-pal: austria

PUBLISHED : Sunday, 16 December, 2007, 12:00am
UPDATED : Sunday, 16 December, 2007, 12:00am

Name Clara Cordes

Age 18

City Schwechat

Star sign Leo/Snake

Vienna is the capital city of Austria. It is quite big and very culture-oriented.

The most important festival in my country is the Donauinselfest (Danube Island Festival). It's an annual open-air music festival in Vienna. It usually happens on a weekend towards the end of June.

It's free and is Europe's biggest open-air event. Musicians from an extremely wide range of genres perform. It appeals to people of all ages, and is a great way to make new friends.

Meals in Austria usually consist of something small and cold, such as salad. Famous Austrian dishes include Wiener Schnitzel (breaded veal) and Kaiserschmarn, a dessert.

In Schwechat, you can go swimming, play tennis or go to the gym, but that's about it. Luckily, Vienna is only about 15 minutes away.

In school, I study many subjects, including maths, geography, philosophy, English, science and German.

Sadly, in Austria students don't get to choose many optional subjects. The only subjects I chose were Italian, Latin and music.

In my opinion, one of the weak points in the education system is that Austrian students don't do sports in the morning. There isn't anything to wake them up properly and therefore they aren't focused on their work.

School life can be quite relaxed. But a lot of it depends on the teachers' attitude towards work.

Some teachers want their students to do well on the exams; others only care about assignments.

My first language is German. I have studied English since I was 10, so I don't have a problem with it, but for most people it's one of the most time-consuming subjects as far as homework is concerned - some students spend up to three hours a day on it.

I have a passion for languages and I also love science. I know that I want to go to university, but I'm not really sure what subjects I want to study.

I usually spend time with my friends watching movies and reading anime. In addition to any sport that's extreme or unusual, I also enjoy ball sports such as basketball and football.

My other pastimes include video games and karaoke, as I really like to listen to music and I also love to sing. My music taste is quite varied: I listen to anything from classical to mainstream pop and rock.

I'm a straight-forward person. If something bothers me, I immediately say what is on my mind before a fight occurs.

During the holidays, I usually stay at home. Sometimes my family decides to go to Italy or Greece, but that doesn't happen very often. Although I enjoy travelling, I still like staying in Austria.

I receive Euro70 (HK$800)pocket money each month, which I use to buy food and cinema or concert tickets. My mother usually takes me shopping and buys clothes for me.

Teenagers in Austria have a lot of freedom. It's fairly normal for teens to go out without telling their parents. While some teens take advantage of this freedom, other more responsible people call home and reassure their parents.

Share

Login

SCMP.com Account

or