e-pal: italy

PUBLISHED : Sunday, 23 December, 2007, 12:00am
UPDATED : Sunday, 23 December, 2007, 12:00am
 

Connecting with teens around the world

Name Alessandra Cattaneo

Age 17

City Bergamo

I think Italy is a beautiful country and I feel lucky to have lived there. There are mountains, beaches and monuments galore. Bergamo is a gorgeous city. It has two parts: the high city and the low city.

I live in the low city, which is a popular shopping area. The high city is the old part of Bergamo and is known for the historical centre which is filled with monuments.

The weather in Italy is very hot in summer and the temperature reaches 30-32 degrees Celsius. In winter, the weather is cold and sometimes snowy, while it is generally rainy and cool in spring.

I spent some time in Germany. I went to the Scientific High School F. Lussana where I studied maths, Italian, history, Latin, science, art, English, PE, physics and philosophy. I enjoy school, but every now and again I struggle with maths or physics. I usually spend about one or two hours a day on homework.

During the summer holidays, I usually go to the beach. In the winter, I sometimes go skiing with my family. In my free time, I listen to music, read books or watch TV.

I normally eat pasta for dinner and and then help with the housework. When my mum is at work, my sister and I share the housework. My chores include making my bed, cleaning the floor, dusting and sometimes washing and ironing clothes.

My first language is Italian and I also speak English. I hang out with my friends in the city where we go shopping and have lots of fun.

I think Italian teenagers are very open to new experiences and things. They are very friendly and polite - but of course there are exceptions!

My favourite sport is swimming. I used to swim almost obsessively until last year when I stopped. I love everything about the sport, especially being in the water.

I normally buy my own clothes. I usually wear jeans, a T-shirt, sweater and tennis shoes.

I had a dog named Junior who sadly died two months ago.

I find that I am sometimes shy with people I don't know. But I can deal easily with uncomfortable situations.

I like Italian singers, and foreign pop and R&B. My favourite films are comedies and I like some cartoons. I don't like horror films.

The most important religious holiday in Italy is Christmas: I celebrate it with my family where we exchange presents.

But the most important event is the Festival del Cinema di Venezia (Venice Film Festival), a world renowned film competition.

I have travelled to many countries including England, France and Croatia. This is my first time in Hong Kong. I am an AFS exchange student at Heep Yunn School and I live with a host family in Ho Man Tin.

I'm not sure about my future. I'll go to university and decide when I'm there.

Share

 

Send to a friend

To forward this article using your default email client (e.g. Outlook), click here.

e-pal: italy

Enter multiple addresses separated by commas(,)

For unlimited access to:

SCMP.com SCMP Tablet Edition SCMP Mobile Edition 10-year news archive