• Fri
  • Aug 29, 2014
  • Updated: 10:21pm

e-pal: czech republic

PUBLISHED : Sunday, 06 January, 2008, 12:00am
UPDATED : Sunday, 06 January, 2008, 12:00am

Connecting with teens around the world

Name Petrasek Ja

Age 17

City Pilsen

Star sign Cancer

My country is colder than Hong Kong. Winter is usually 7 degrees Celsius down to -5 degrees. The summer can be anything from 18 degrees to 35 degrees.

I live in small town called Pilsen, a western city in Czech Republic.

There are only about 150,000 inhabitants, but it is famous for its factories - we produce some of the world's most famous beer!

I like the Czech Republic for its nature, historical places and beer.

My first language is Czech. I have been studying English for quite a while and am quite comfortable using it.

I studied Latin at school, but it's not very practical. I have also learned some Spanish, but I'm not very good - I only know the basics.

I study at a general grammar school in Pilsen. School starts at 8.15am and finishes at 4pm, with an hour lunch break.

I study English, Spanish, Latin, Czech literature, biology, chemistry, physics, maths, geography, history, PE, music and social sciences. It's a lot of work, but at least we don't get homework!

Teen life in the Czech republic is quite different from Asia. Czech teens go to the pub, then play sports.

Many teenagers religiously follow particular lifestyles, such as punk or hip hop. It is the easiest way to make friends.

Their personality is influenced by their group. But others, like me, don't follow trends like that.

I like to play chess or board games at the pub. In my free time, I play computer games, hang out with friends and sometimes I do something sporty. In summer, I like to cycle and swim. And in winter, I like to ski.

I am not very good at cooking, but I love to eat. I'll eat almost anything!

I don't have an idol. I don't like to idolise anybody because I believe everyone has a good and bad side to their character.

I like nearly every kind of music. My favourite is classical and some pop. I also like ethnic music. When I'm working, I like to listen to heavy metal.

I love travelling. I just spent three weeks in Thailand with my Thai friend.

I've also been to Hungary, Slovakia, Germany, Austria, France, Spain, Italy, Egypt and Tunisia.

I have lived in Hong Kong since I joined the AFS exchange programme last year. My impression of Hong Kong is that it's a big, cosmopolitan city with many possibilities - and bad ecology.

Share

Related topics

For unlimited access to:

SCMP.com SCMP Tablet Edition SCMP Mobile Edition 10-year news archive
 
 

 

 
 
 
 
 

Login

SCMP.com Account

or