• Fri
  • Nov 28, 2014
  • Updated: 12:23am

e-pal: france

PUBLISHED : Sunday, 03 February, 2008, 12:00am
UPDATED : Sunday, 03 February, 2008, 12:00am

Connecting with teens around the world

Name Nicolas Le Thery

Age 16

City Chateauneuf sur Sarthe

I live in Chateauneuf sur Sarthe, a small town in the west of France.

The weather in France can vary - the south is beautiful and quite hot for most of the year, while the north is often cloudy and rainy.

I like France because there are the sea, the mountains and the varying landscapes.

July 14 is the biggest national holiday. It's a commemoration of the French Revolution. There are fireworks and parades all over the country.

The second most important celebration is Christmas.

My school in France is quite small - there are only 350 students.

I study French, mathematics, English, history, geography, German, biology, technology, PE, music, art and physics.

I usually spend about an hour on my homework every day. School life is cool but serious.

My first language is French and I also speak English and German.

During my free time, I enjoy going to the cinema, playing computer and video games, football, basketball and tennis - which I really love because it's technical and energetic.

I also play the drums and I love chatting with friends on MSN.

At home I don't need to do much housework as someone comes to clean twice a week. But from time to time, I lay and clean the table as well as my bedroom.

As for pets I have a dog, a cat and some fish.

I usually wear T-shirts, jeans and trainers. My parents buy them for me. They're very caring: they get me everything I need and I don't even need pocket money to buy things.

French cuisine is famous, and I eat a variety of dishes for dinner. But my favourite things are simple: ham, pasta and rice.

I don't have any favourite idol but I like rock music and musicians. Some of my favourites are Fall Out Boy, The Servant and Ill Nino.

I am a funny, loving and happy person and sometimes I can be quite gullible. I think I'm a quite typical French teenager. I think teens around the world are similar, although teens from cities can be different from those from the countryside.

During the holidays, I often go to La Baule by the seaside in the west of France, the south of France and sometimes England or Ireland.

I love travelling, and I have been to England, Ireland, Belgium, Netherlands, Germany, Switzerland, Italy, Spain and Luxemburg. I had never been to Hong Kong before. But now I'm an AFS exchange student here. I live with a host family in Fo Tan, and I'm really enjoying myself here.

I don't think too much about my future. But I would like to work in computers, show business or as an interpreter.

Share

Related topics

For unlimited access to:

SCMP.com SCMP Tablet Edition SCMP Mobile Edition 10-year news archive
 
 

 

 
 
 
 
 

Login

SCMP.com Account

or