e-pal: italy | South China Morning Post
  • Sun
  • Feb 1, 2015
  • Updated: 6:00pm

e-pal: italy

PUBLISHED : Tuesday, 19 February, 2008, 12:00am
UPDATED : Tuesday, 19 February, 2008, 12:00am
 

Connecting with teens around the world

Name Alessandra Cattaneo

Age 17

City Bergamo

I think Italy is a beautiful country and I feel lucky to have lived there. There are mountains, beaches and monuments galore. Bergamo is a gorgeous city. It has two parts: the high city and the low city.

I live in the low city, which is a popular shopping area. The high city is the old part of Bergamo and is known for the historical centre which is filled with monuments. In Italy, it is very hot in summer, with the temperature reaching 30-32 degrees Celsius.

It is cold in winter and sometimes snowy, while it is generally rainy and cool in spring. I spent some time in Germany. I went to the Scientific High School F. Lussana where I studied maths, Italian, history, Latin, science, art, English, physical education, physics and philosophy.

I enjoy school, but every now and again I struggle with maths or physics. I usually spend about one or two hours a day on homework. During the summer holidays, I usually go to the beach. In the winter, I sometimes go skiing with my family. In my free time, I listen to music, read books or watch TV.

When my mum is at work, my sister and I share the housework.

My first language is Italian and I also speak English.

I think Italian teenagers are very open to new experiences. They are usually very friendly and polite. My favourite sport is swimming. I had a dog named Junior who sadly died two months ago. I find that I am sometimes shy with people I don't know. But I can deal easily with uncomfortable situations.

The most important event in Italy is the Festival del Cinema di Venezia (Venice Film Festival), a world-renowned movie competition. I have travelled to many countries, including England, France and Croatia.

This is my first visit to Hong Kong. I am an AFS exchange student at Heep Yunn School and I live with a host family in Ho Man Tin. I'm not sure about my future. I'll decide what to do when I am at university.

Share

For unlimited access to:

SCMP.com SCMP Tablet Edition SCMP Mobile Edition 10-year news archive
 
 

 

 
 
 
 
 

Login

SCMP.com Account

or