Four phases of SAT

PUBLISHED : Wednesday, 12 March, 2008, 12:00am
UPDATED : Wednesday, 12 March, 2008, 12:00am

Phase 1: Assessment and rapport-building

Let the children warm up and be more active. Encourage them to build up their confidence in the art therapists and SAT.

Activity: Ribbon Dancing

Phase 2: Addressing issues around abuse

Let the therapists know about the children's problems or abuse.

Allow the children to overcome their fear, anger and any other negative emotion. Build up children's defence mechanism against abuse and rebuild their self-identity.

Activity: Face the Threat

Phase 3: Building self-confidence

Help the children gain control and hence gain confidence.

Allow them to make happy, healthy and positive choices.

Activity: Visit a Safe Place

Phase 4: Consolidation

Help them make decisions to accomplish a future goal.

Consolidate the children's positive feelings and their future.

Activity: Create Your Own Safe Place