• Sun
  • Apr 20, 2014
  • Updated: 5:39am

e-pal: denmark

PUBLISHED : Tuesday, 29 April, 2008, 12:00am
UPDATED : Tuesday, 29 April, 2008, 12:00am

Connecting with teens around the world

Name Christoffer Ravn Rahbek

Age 16

City Hellerup

Star sign Aries

Hellerup is a little suburb of Copenhagen, with old villas dating from 1890 and big gardens. We are right on the coast and have harbours and nice parks, yet only 10 minutes from the centre of the Danish capital.

We have definite seasons here. The temperature ranges from minus 8 degrees Celsius, with snow and a lot of rain from November to March, to 25 degrees or more from April to October, perfect weather for beach trips and garden parties.

My first language is Danish, but I speak some English and German, as we learn them at school. I also understand some Swedish and Norwegian.

In my spare time, I like to go running, go to parties and play online or computer games with my friends.

I also take singing lessons and listen to a lot of music. I love reading manga, drawing and watching movies.

During the winter holidays, I spend one or two weeks skiing and snowboarding with my family, mostly in Italy or France. Over the summer holidays, I travel with my family, mostly to Italy, for swimming and cultural experiences.

I like running and skateboarding, but my favourite sport is probably the martial art taijutsu. I've also tried fencing, ice skating, tennis and archery.

I like 60s, 70s and 80s music the most, like Jefferson Airplane, The Who, Deep Purple, The Beatles and Supertramp. I also like modern music like Daft Punk and Timbaland.

Some of my favourite movies are The Simpsons Movie and Die Hard 4.0. I also love the TV show Friends.

Danish teenagers try to act like adults. But that doesn't mean listening to the same music or visiting the same internet sites as their parents! They try to maintain their own youth culture.

As an AFS exchange student, I'm lucky enough to get to know life in Hong Kong - it's an enchanting experience.

Share

Related topics

Login

SCMP.com Account

or