• Tue
  • Dec 30, 2014
  • Updated: 12:47am

e-pal: germany

PUBLISHED : Tuesday, 03 June, 2008, 12:00am
UPDATED : Tuesday, 03 June, 2008, 12:00am
 

Connecting with teens around the world

Name Katharina Siebert

Age 17

City Berlin

Star sign Virgo

I come from Berlin which is the capital of Germany. It's an old city, so there are a lot of historic buildings, but there are also many exciting new places.

I study German, English, French, Italian, maths, geography, history, biology, chemistry, physics, sport, music, arts and religious education. I spend between two and three hours every day doing homework.

My second language is French, my third is English and my fourth is Italian. I also learn Spanish and Latin.

My friends and I like to shop, go to the cinema or hang out in coffee shops.

When I'm not with my friends, I like to read, and listen to music. I usually spend my holidays with my mum. We travel to Bavaria or sometimes we go abroad to places like London, Austria, Italy, France and Vancouver.

My mum and I are vegetarians. I also love pizza and other Italian food, sushi and Chinese food. We usually prepare meals together.

As well as cooking, I need to help with the housework.

I also have to look after my pet tortoise, Chloe.

I listen to nearly all kinds of music. At the moment, my favourite singer is Maria Mena, but this changes nearly every day.

I like classic movies like Breakfast at Tiffany's, but I also love new releases.

Teenagers in Germany are very open-minded and do not worry too much about the future. They try to have a lot of fun. After I finish school, I want to go to university in England and become a journalist.

The biggest festival in our country is Christmas, when the whole family comes together. The streets are covered with lights and amazing decorations.

While I had been to many different places around the world, I'd never visited Hong Kong before joining the AFS Intercultural Exchanges programme.

But many of my relatives who had been to Hong Kong told me a lot of nice things about the city, so I decided to see for myself!

Share

For unlimited access to:

SCMP.com SCMP Tablet Edition SCMP Mobile Edition 10-year news archive
 
 

 

 
 
 
 
 

Login

SCMP.com Account

or