e-pal: canada

PUBLISHED : Sunday, 15 June, 2008, 12:00am
UPDATED : Sunday, 15 June, 2008, 12:00am

Connecting with teens around the world

Name Megan Beverly Prefontaine

Age 15

City Calgary

Star sign Capricorn

Calgary is a fairly big Canadian city with a population of more than one million people. It is very clean with beautiful parks and rivers.

Canada is the second largest country in the world. It has seven provinces and three territories. From beaches to mountains, Canada has an extremely diverse landscape.

The climate is all over the place here. It snows in the winter and gets fairly nice during the summer. The weather is unpredictable and can be extreme.

My first language is English. I can't speak any other languages fluently but I know a little French and Japanese.

I go to a very small school with only a few hundred students. There are only a handful of girls in our grade so we all hang out.

Most people are very friendly and stylish. We shop at different stores but share a similar sense of style. We have our spats but they're quickly resolved.

My friends and I like to watch movies and go to the mall. We hang out at each other's houses, going in the hot tub and playing Rock Band. Sometimes we go to restaurants.

I like most music except for country. I'm a big movie buff and watch several movies a week. If I have any more spare time, I spend it on Facebook, YouTube and ichat, or I read.

I act in school plays and with theatre companies. I also make films and take photographs. I aspire to be a film director or a film editor. If I don't manage to fulfil that ambition, I would like to be an advertising photographer or work in the culinary arts.

Canada is a multicultural and diverse country. Teenagers here are very respectful and hard working. I think that my generation will be very successful in life.

Compared to the rest of our culture, our cuisine is very boring. My favourite foods are sushi, dim sum, kimchi and other Korean dishes and Vietnamese cuisine. In fact, I like most Asian food.

I like fashionable, colourful clothes, and love stores such as Aritzia, Billabong and Roxy. Sometimes I buy my clothes and sometimes my parents treat me.

My favourite sport is hurdles. I love it and I made the team last year.

Calgary's Lilac Festival is a very important event. It happens in spring when all the lilacs come out. There's a big celebration on 4th street, where everyone eats, buys things and dances. It's a lot of fun! Sadly this year it was raining, so it wasn't as successful.

In the summer, I go to Hawaii, Christina Lake, or other parts of Canada, like Ontario, Quebec and British Columbia. I snowboard during the winter and wakeboard, tube and surf during the summer.

I've also been to Florida and California but I've never been to Hong Kong. But a very good friend of mine moved there last year - maybe I'll visit!


Send to a friend

To forward this article using your default email client (e.g. Outlook), click here.

e-pal: canada

Enter multiple addresses separated by commas(,)

Related topics