• Thu
  • Oct 2, 2014
  • Updated: 8:22am

e-pal germany

PUBLISHED : Tuesday, 24 June, 2008, 12:00am
UPDATED : Tuesday, 24 June, 2008, 12:00am

Connecting with teens around the world

Name Katinka Soltow

Age 18

City Flensburg

Star sign Capricorn

Flensburg is just seven kilometres away from the Danish border. It was actually under the supervision of the Danish Crown for 400 years until 1864.

The historic town of Flensburg was founded before 1200 and was once the second-largest city in Denmark.

There is still a substantial Danish community there today. We even have Danish schools and newspapers.

The town is very beautiful, with many old buildings in great condition. But the weather is gloomy - it's always rainy and cold.

What I like most about my country is that everybody's opinion is respected and I always feel safe.

At school, I study sport, art, physics, biology, economics and videography. Usually I finish my homework at school so I don't have to do anything at home.

German is my mother tongue and I have been learning English for almost six years. In my free time, I meet my friends and we go out for dinner.

Badminton is my favourite sport. I play it with my friends. Besides sport, my main interest is music. I listen to all kinds of music.

During the holidays, I usually go to Hamburg or Berlin, or sometimes overseas. We have two cats, while my brother keeps fish. I enjoy wearing T-shirts and jeans, and I buy my clothes myself.

I'm quiet and shy, but I'm always open to experiencing new things. That's why I like travelling so much.

I think most teenagers in Germany are very independent. They have their own style and ideas, and they believe in individualism.

The most important holidays in Germany are our national holiday, which is on October 3, and Christmas.

I've been to Turkey, Austria, Spain and Denmark.

Now that I've joined AFS Intercultural Exchanges, I'm looking forward to exploring Hong Kong and living with a host family in Kwai Chung.

Share

For unlimited access to:

SCMP.com SCMP Tablet Edition SCMP Mobile Edition 10-year news archive
 
 

 

 
 
 
 
 

Login

SCMP.com Account

or