• Wed
  • Sep 17, 2014
  • Updated: 5:15am

Australia

Helped by its massive natural resources, Australia has weathered the global financial crisis better than other Group of 20 economies. In 2012, its economy grew 3.1 per cent, compared with 1.6 per cent in the United States and 1.1 per cent in Canada. 

e-pal: australia

PUBLISHED : Tuesday, 26 August, 2008, 12:00am
UPDATED : Tuesday, 26 August, 2008, 12:00am

Connecting with teens around the world

Name Jordan William Steer

Age 17

City Brisbane

Star sign Aquarius

Brisbane is a relaxed city. People like to enjoy themselves in the usually sunny weather. We tend to get a bit of rain but overall I think Australia has the best weather in the world.

At school, I study business organisation management, economics, drama, maths, English, religion and recreation studies. School life is great fun. It's a sport-orientated school so sport is a major part of my life.

My favourite sport is rugby. I like it because it's a good way to let out your aggression. It also tests your ability to push yourself when the going gets tough. Surfing is one of my favourite hobbies, even though I've just started. I like sitting on my board and waiting for a wave I might be able to catch.

If my family hasn't arranged anything for the holidays, I go camping on the beach with friends. I usually spend my free time on my computer either listening to music or doing schoolwork.

I have a very close relationship with my parents, sister and brother.

My mum loves animals and has three dogs, a cat and three goats. She's away from home five days a week so she leaves me and my brother to feed them. The dogs and cat always sleep in my room.

Australia is famous for its meat. My favourite meal is steak and pasta because you always get served large portions.

What I like most about my country is the humour.

Australians seem to have a weird sense of humour which only we understand. I'm a positive person - I always try to make the best of any situation, and make everything I do fun so life is more enjoyable.

Australia doesn't have many festivals, but the main one is Australia Day. We celebrate by having a barbecue with friends and family.

I love travelling, and I've been all over Australia, and visited New Zealand, China and Canada. Last December, I visited Hong Kong and fell in love with it.

Share

For unlimited access to:

SCMP.com SCMP Tablet Edition SCMP Mobile Edition 10-year news archive
 
 

 

 
 
 
 
 

Login

SCMP.com Account

or