Racquet power

PUBLISHED : Wednesday, 22 October, 2008, 12:00am
UPDATED : Wednesday, 22 October, 2008, 12:00am

Squash is a racquet sport played in an indoor court. The game includes singles (played by two players) and doubles (two teams of two players).

Players use a small racquet with a long handle and a small, hollow rubber ball.

The squash court

There are three red horizontal lines on the front wall.

The highest is the 'out' line. It is marked on all four walls at a different height. Then there is the 'service' line. It is 183cm above the floor on the front wall. The 'tin' is at a height of 48cm from the floor, also on the front wall.

Two service boxes are marked on each side of the court.

To start the game

To start, the server has to keep at least one foot in the service box. He has to hit the ball above the 'service' line but below the 'out' line on the opposite wall. During rallies, players have to hit the ball between the 'out' line and the 'tin'. Play goes on until a player can not return the other player's shot before it has bounced twice.

If the receiver wins a rally, he will get the chance to serve. Only the server can score points.

Unlike tennis, any shot on the red lines are considered out.

The players play in a small area. There are rules to prevent them blocking each other. If there is an 'illegal' move, players can appeal for a 'let'. The referee may ask them to replay the point or award a 'stroke' - a point or the right to serve - to the player who makes the appeal.


There are five games in most squash matches. The first player to score nine points wins a game. The player who wins the most number of games out of five is the winner.