PUBLISHED : Saturday, 06 December, 2008, 12:00am
UPDATED : Saturday, 06 December, 2008, 12:00am

December 7

8am-noon Hong Kong International Sale Breeze-up. Interested buyers can have a close look at the horses before the auction. Lots will be breezed in pairs on the turf track at Sha Tin racecourse before the Hong Kong International Sale.

8-11.30am Buffet breakfast at the Jockey Club Box

10-11.15am Breeze-Up

11.30-noon Visit sale horses at the temporary stables

December 10

7.40pm Fireworks will be set off to kick-start the 11th annual Cathay Pacific Hong Kong International Jockeys' Championship. There will be 12 international jockeys taking part in three races to compete for the title. Jockeys taking part include former champions and winners: Germany's Andrasch Starke, Hong Kong's Douglas Whyte, Australia's Damien Oliver and Belgium's Christophe Soumillon. Jockeys from Britain, Ireland, Japan and the United States will also compete for the title.

8.10pm First race starts

9.10pm Second race starts

10.10pm Final race starts

10.20pm Presentation to the winner of the championship

December 13

10.30am Hong Kong International Sale at the parade ring of Sha Tin racecourse. Event is for Hong Kong Jockey Club members and by invitation only.

December 14

10.25am to 6.10pm This year's Cathay Pacific Hong Kong International Races has four championship events: the Cathay Pacific Hong Kong Cup, the Cathay Pacific Hong Kong Mile, the Cathay Pacific Hong Kong Vase and the Cathay Pacific Hong Kong Sprint. Altogether the four events on turf offer a combined HK$62 million in prize money.

The gates of Sha Tin racecourse will open at 10.25am and racegoers will receive a truck cap (until supplies run out) designed by local artist Siuhak, who has also designed MTR souvenir tickets and has a panda cartoon series. The day's events will start with a performance in the parade ring by Australia's Magic2 with illusionists Michael Boyd and Cathie Costello. Then there will be a singing performance by Joey Yung, Sherman Chung, Keith Wong and Alex Wu.

Races will start at 12.25pm and will end at 5.50pm. Fireworks will be set off in the public forecourt to mark the finish of this year's event.