Foreign banks in Shanghai free-trade zone lack permits to transfer funds freely | South China Morning Post
  • Wed
  • Mar 25, 2015
  • Updated: 7:49pm

Shanghai free-trade zone

Shanghai free-trade zone (FTZ) is the first Hong Kong-like free trade area in mainland China. The plan was first announced by the government in July and it was personally endorsed by Premier Li Keqiang who said he wanted to make the zone a snapshot of how China can upgrade its economic structure. Other mainland cities and provinces including Tianjin and Guangdong have also lobbied Beijing for such approvals. The Shanghai FTZ will first span 28.78 square kilometres in the city's Pudong New Area, including the Waigaoqiao duty-free zone and Yangshan port and it is believed it may eventually expand to cover the entire Pudong district which covers 1,210.4 sq km of land.

BusinessBanking & Finance

Foreign banks in Shanghai free-trade zone lack permits to transfer funds freely

PUBLISHED : Tuesday, 08 July, 2014, 11:58am
UPDATED : Wednesday, 09 July, 2014, 4:54am

Ten foreign banks have opened subsidiaries in the Shanghai free-trade zone, but none has obtained a key permit that would allow them to take advantage of the liberalisation offered.

Released from the tight controls on foreign exchange elsewhere on the mainland, firms registered in the zone are supposed to be able to freely convert and transfer capital between overseas accounts and free-trade accounts (FTAs), which the central bank will treat as offshore accounts.

Banks in the zone must apply to the central bank for a permit to allow them to open FTAs for their corporate clients.

"It's funny to see all the banks competing with each other in issuing press releases to say they finally opened [an office] in the free-trade zone, but few of the banks can really tell you what exactly they can do there after they get their branches," said a senior executive at a foreign bank who declined to be named, as he was not authorised to speak to the media.

Another foreign banker involved in the application process, who declined to be named owing to the political sensitivity of the matter, told the South China Morning Post he believed the central bank - the People's Bank of China - might be delaying FTA approval to foreign banks on purpose because Beijing wanted domestic banks to have the first go.

In fact, five mainland banks have already received the permit, including three of the Big Four state lenders - Bank of China, Industrial and Commercial Bank of China and China Construction Bank - as well as Shanghai Pudong Development Bank and Bank of Shanghai, according to the central bank.

It is believed that at least five foreign banks have applied for the permit, but bankers involved say they expect it will take several months before those foreign banks can meet even the minimum regulatory requirements, owing to the complexity of the new banking system in the zone.

The 10 foreign banks that have opened subsidiaries in the zone are Britain's HSBC and Standard Chartered, US bank Citi, Japan's Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ, Sumitomo Mitsui Banking and Mizuho, as well as Hong Kong's Bank of East Asia and Hang Seng Bank, Singapore's DBS and Australia's ANZ.

The Shanghai free-trade zone, which was launched last year and is personally backed by Premier Li Keqiang , is a key experiment in the central government's economic reform effort.


Related topics

For unlimited access to: SCMP Tablet Edition SCMP Mobile Edition 10-year news archive



Login Account