• Thu
  • Jul 24, 2014
  • Updated: 10:24pm

North Korea

The Democratic People's Republic of Korea is a country in East Asia, located in the northern half of the Korean Peninsula bordering South Korea and China. Its capital, Pyongyang, is the country's largest city by both land area and population. It is a single-party state led by the Korean Workers' Party (KWP), and governed by Supreme Leader Kim Jong-un since 2012. It has a population of 24,052,231 (UN-assisted DPRK census 2008) made up of Koreans and a smaller Chinese minority. Japan 'opened' Korea in 1876 and annexed it in 1910. The Republic of Korea (ROK) was founded with US support in the south in August 1948 and the Soviet-backed Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPRK) in the north in September that year. 


North Korea has 15 nuclear facilities, says South Korean government

Most of North Korea's nuclear facilities are in Yongbyon, says report by South Korea's unification ministry

PUBLISHED : Tuesday, 15 October, 2013, 3:52pm
UPDATED : Tuesday, 15 October, 2013, 7:40pm

North Korea has 15 nuclear facilities and laboratories as of August 2013 and most of them are located in Yongbyon, the South Korean government confirmed on Monday.

Yongbyon, around 90 kilometres north of the capital Pyongyang, had 13 nuclear facilities, including a five-megawatt nuclear reactor, a 25-30 megawatt electrical (MWe) nuclear power station and an IRT-2000 research reactor, said a Ministry of Unification report submitted to lawmaker In Jae-keun.

The five-megawatt nuclear reactor was believed to have produced plutonium used in the country’s first and second nuclear tests in 2006 and 2009, reported South Korea’s Yonhap News Agency.

Other facilities at Yongbyon included a 50 MWe light water plant, a radiochemical lab, a uranium enrichment site, a production line for fuel rods, an institute for using isotopes, a nuclear fuel storage bunker, three waste management facilities and an assembly plant for fissile materials.

Pyongyang was the home of a fissile material facility, while the western coastal town of Thaechon had a new 200 MWe power station, it said.

Such sites could be used for producing nuclear weapons, reported Yonhap.

The ministry’s report did not clarify how many North Koreans were working at the facilities and whether the number of nuclear sites had increased recently.

In March, the US Congressional Research Service reported that North Korea had an estimated 20 nuclear facilities with some 3,000 workers.


Related topics

For unlimited access to:

SCMP.com SCMP Tablet Edition SCMP Mobile Edition 10-year news archive




SCMP.com Account