Diaoyu Islands

China pledges to protect Japanese citizens, property after protests

PUBLISHED : Monday, 17 September, 2012, 3:59pm
UPDATED : Thursday, 29 August, 2013, 4:13am

China pledged on Monday to protect Japanese citizens and property and urged anti-Japan protesters to express themselves in an “orderly, rational and lawful” way after mass demonstrations in scores of Chinese cities.

Chinese Foreign Ministry spokesman Hong Lei told reporters at a daily briefing that it was up to Japan to correct its ways and the direction of developments was now in Japan’s hands.

Protests against Japan broke out on Saturday, following mounting tensions over islands in the East China Sea claimed by both Beijing and Tokyo.