• Mon
  • Sep 22, 2014
  • Updated: 9:54pm

Diaoyu Islands

The Diaoyu Islands are a group of uninhabited islands located roughly due east of mainland China, northeast of Taiwan, west of Okinawa Island, and north of the southwestern end of the Ryukyu Islands. They are currently controlled by Japan, which calls them Senkaku Islands. Both China and Taiwan claim sovereignty over the islands. 


Taipei welcomes Japanese statement on territorial dispute

PUBLISHED : Sunday, 07 October, 2012, 12:00am
UPDATED : Sunday, 07 October, 2012, 3:49am

Taiwan yesterday welcomed the Japanese foreign minister's statement that "isolated problems" - a thinly veiled reference to the East China Sea territorial disputes - should not damage relations between Tokyo and Taipei.

Japanese Foreign Minister Koichiro Gemba issued a statement through Japan's de facto mission in Taipei on Friday, calling for calm over "pending issues" between the two sides, although he stopped short of mentioning the disputed Diaoyu, or Senkaku, islands by name.

In response, Taipei's Ministry of Foreign Affairs lauded the demonstration of goodwill by Tokyo, but stressed that Taiwan would continue to defend its sovereignty over the Diaoyus.

Meanwhile, the Japan Coast Guard reported that eight mainland patrol boats were seen yesterday in what Tokyo considers its territorial waters near the islands, Kyodo News said.


For unlimited access to:

SCMP.com SCMP Tablet Edition SCMP Mobile Edition 10-year news archive


This article is now closed to comments

Don't be silly. The Japanese have the knack using confusing words to veil their real intentions such as spreading rumours about the potential (a confusing word) treasury around the islands ! We should not have false expectation and anxiety on the Japanese !


SCMP.com Account