Raymond Wong Yuk Man

Trade-off denied as Legco rivals vote opposition onto committee

PUBLISHED : Saturday, 20 October, 2012, 12:00am
UPDATED : Thursday, 11 June, 2015, 3:50pm

Radical lawmaker Wong Yuk-man of People Power knocked out fellow pan-democrat Cyd Ho Sau-lan to win the seventh and final seat on a Legislative Council committee yesterday, thanks to an unexpected boost from the pro-establishment camp.

Most of the 34 votes Wong won for the membership of the public accounts committee were cast by lawmakers of the rival camp; the remaining four were from his party and the League of Social Democrats.

"There was no co-ordination [with the pro-establishment camp]. Never," Wong said on the sidelines of a house committee meeting that saw eight members jockey for the seats.

He said some of the 40 votes that went to Civic Party leader Alan Leong Kah-kit also came from Beijing-loyalist legislators.

Wong's colleague from People Power, Albert Chan Wai-yip, said: "There was no trade-off or discussion between us and pro-establishment councillors."

Asked why the rival camp supported Wong, not Ho, Chan said: "Maybe they hate the other [candidate] more than Yuk-man."

Both camps had earlier agreed to let three pan-democrats sit on the public accounts committee, but Wong decided to join as the fourth candidate.

Ip Kwok-him, of the Democratic Alliance for the Betterment and Progress of Hong Kong, said: "I told Alan [several days ago] that … if they could not co-ordinate [to field just three pan-democratic candidates], we would vote on our free will."

Ip said he had voted for Wong. "As a member of a select committee in the past, he had performed well and was dedicated. He could spot problems to follow up."

Ho said she was not surprised about the result.

"I have nothing to trade off with others," she said, before denying she had implied Wong had agreed to a trade-off with the pro-establishment camp.

Besides Wong and Leong, the third elected pan-democrat on the committee is Kenneth Leung Kai-cheong. The Beijing loyalist members are Chan Hak-kan, Abraham Razack, Paul Tse Wai-chun and Ng Leung-sing.