Poverty commission appointees named

PUBLISHED : Friday, 09 November, 2012, 9:43pm
UPDATED : Friday, 09 November, 2012, 9:54pm

A tycoon, a former professional athlete and a veteran journalist are among those appointed to the reinstated Commission on Poverty, according to the list of member released by the government on Friday. The commission was reinstated to deal with the growing poverty problem in Hong Kong.

Chief Secretary Carrie Lam Cheng Yuet-ngor, who will chair the commission, said the commission would examine existing welfare policies and recommend new measures to help alleviate poverty.

The 18 non-government official members appointed on Friday include four lawmakers, academics and others from the social welfare, business, education and vocational training sectors.

Among them are social welfare heavyweights:

  • Rosanna Wong Yik-ming, director of the Hong Kong Federation of Youth Groups and an influential figure in local social work since the colonial era
  • Ho Hei-wah, director of the non-profit Society for Community Organisation, which is known for its advocacy and community work on behalf of street-sleepers and cubicle dwellers
  • Stephen Frederick Fisher, general director of Oxfam general and former director of the government’s social welfare department
  • Chua Hoi-wai, business director of policy advocacy and social enterprise at the Hong Kong Council of Social Service

The tycoon is Henry Cheng Kar-shun, son of property mogul Cheng Yu-tung and chairman of New World Development Company, who was also on the preparatory group for the commission.

Also on the list are:

  • Amy Chan Lim-chee, former professional badminton player turned educator
  • Sylvia Chan May-kuen, primary school headmistress and member of the Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority,
  • May Chan Suk-meiveteran journalist and director of news and public affairs for Commercial Radio
  • Professor Stephen Cheung Yan-leung of Baptist University, who will chair the commission’s task force, which manages the Social Innovation and Entrepreneurship Development Fund – a HK$500 million fund set aside to develop social enterprise
  • Law Chi-kwong, executive committee chairman of the Community Care Fund, who will chair the task force on the fund
  • David Wong Yau-kar, who will chair the societal engagement task force.
  • Clement Chen Cheng-jen, chairman of the vocational training council, who will chair the task force on education, employment and training

The appointed lawmakers include Cheung Kwok-che representing the social work constituency, pan-democrat Frederick Fung Kim-kee and pro-government lawmakers Michael Tien Puk-sun and Leung Che-cheung.

Seven of the 18 appointees, including Li Fung-ying and Lam Shuk-yee, were on the previous poverty commission, which was closed down by then chief executive Donald Tsang Yam-kuen in 2007.