Selina Chow set to be Liberal Party chairwoman

PUBLISHED : Thursday, 13 December, 2012, 12:00am
UPDATED : Thursday, 13 December, 2012, 4:23am

Veteran politician Selina Chow Liang Shuk-yee is poised to become the next chairwoman of the Liberal Party.

Lawmaker James Tien Pei-chun said the nominations for the party's election close on Saturday and a result is expected to be announced the same day.

Chow, the current vice-chairwoman, and lawmakers Vincent Fang Kang and Chung Kwok-pan form the only slate to be nominated so far, with Fang and Chung running for vice-chairmen.

Chow was a lawmaker for 23 years before losing her seat in the Legislative Council elections four years ago. She also served as an executive councillor for five years from 2003.

She said she hopes to boost the party's community networks if she is successfully returned.

"The Liberal Party's affairs, including the [management of] district works, needs someone to concentrate on them … it was hard to do in the past," Chow said. "I hope to bring experienced and young members together and work on it. This would benefit the party's development as well."

Tien, the party's honorary chairman and spokesman, said he will be in charge of the party's Legislative Council affairs, while the honorary chairwoman Miriam Lau Kin-yee will be responsible for overseeing the bills.

He suggested that this division of labour would ensure the party's sustainable development.

He also said it was part of their plan to follow the British model and create a second leadership role to share responsibilities.

"It could take another five to six months to amend the articles of the company, so we decided to settle the chairmanship first, and I will stay as the party's spokesman [to share Chow's workload]," Tien added.

Currently, the pan-democratic Civic Party is the only party to have a chairman and leader.

Chung, representing the textiles and garment sector, believed that if elected vice-chairman he would strengthen ties with small and medium enterprises as well as young party members.