Chinese Super League 2016

‘Embarrassing’ for China as all 16 goals on Super League opening weekend scored by foreigners

Big-money signings deliver, but it’s unclear how Chinese team will benefit

PUBLISHED : Monday, 07 March, 2016, 10:55am
UPDATED : Monday, 07 March, 2016, 11:43am

Big-money stars such as Alex Teixeira, Ramires, Gervinho and Jackson Martinez all scored on their Chinese Super League debuts as the league kicked off – but some commentators wondered how the national team was supposed to benefit as all 16 goals on opening weekend came from foreigners.

An article in the Guangzhou Daily said it was embarrassing that Chen Po-liang, of Taiwan, was the closest thing the league had to a ‘local’ player scoring.

“From the perspective of the development of Chinese football, it’s a despicably bad thing,” said the commentary.

Teixeira, whose move from Shakhtar Donetsk to Jiangsu Suning for 50 million stunned world football, scored twice on his debut, including a cracker bent in from the corner of the box.

WATCH: Teixeira off the mark

Teammate Ramires joined him on the scoresheet as Jiangsu won 3-1. Martinez – who cost Guangzhou Evergrande 42 million – also scored, but the champions were stunned 2-1 at Chongqing Lifan.

China’s transfer splurge - click for full size

Gervinho (18 million) was also off the mark as the biggest spenders of the crazy winter window, Hebei China Fortune, won ,

Chinese players did have some impact however – collecting all five red cards shown on the opening weekend.

Hong Kong have one player in the league, Changchun’s Jack Sealy, and he started at right-back in a 2-1 loss to Tim Cahill’s new club Hangzhou Greentown.

Here’s the list of foreign scorers in full:

Guangzhou R&F 1 - Ersan Gulum (Turkey, own goal) -- Hebei China Fortune 2 - Gulum, Gervinho (Ivory Coast)

Henan Jianye 1 (Osman Sow, Sweden) -- Shanghai SIPG 0

Shanghai Shenhua 1 (Demba Ba, Senegal) -- Yanbian Funde 1 (Ha Tae-goon, South Korea)

Jiangsu Suning 3 (Ramires, Brazil; Alex Teixeira 2, Brazil) -- Shandong Luneng 0

Shijiazhuang Ever Bright 0 -- Liaoning Whowin 1 (Ibrahima Toure, Senegal)

Chongqing Lifan 2 (Fernandino 2, Brazil) -- Guangzhou Evergrande 1 (Jackson Martinez, Colombia)

Hangzhou Greentown 2 (Chen Po-liang, Taiwan; Tim Cahill, Australia) -- Changchun Yatai 1 (Marcelo Moreno, Bolivia)