Octogenarian officials cannot stand for re-election to Hong Kong's governing committee

Amid criticism, three Sports Federation and Olympic Committee officers will be replaced

PUBLISHED : Wednesday, 26 February, 2014, 10:11pm
UPDATED : Thursday, 27 February, 2014, 12:29am


Three ageing Hong Kong Sports Federation and Olympic Committee vice-presidents will be replaced next month amid criticism of its domination by a small cadre who have power over the selection of athletes for the Olympics, Asian Games and other multi-sport events.

The committee said this week that there would be an election of its 14 office bearers at its annual meeting on March 27. These positions include one president, eight vice-presidents, one honorary secretary, three deputy secretary generals and one honorary treasurer.

Hu Fa-kuang, Tong Yun-kai and Wong Wah-sang, who have held vice-presidential positions since 1992, will have to step down, after reaching the age of 80, as International Olympic Committee regulations stipulate.

Though the deadline for nominations is not until next Wednesday, it is believed their posts are likely to be taken up by Herman Hu Shao-ming, Tong Wai-lun and Pui Kwan-kay. The two Hus are father and son, as are the Tongs.

The other 11 office bearers, headed by president Timothy Fok Tsun-ting and honorary secretary general Pang Chung, are unlikely to be challenged. The next election will be in 2016.

Pang, who has been with the organisation for more than 20 years, said the election would be open and fair to all sports officials interested in working for the betterment of Hong Kong sport.

"We won't speculate who will be entering the election until the applications close, but as long as they are interested in the promotion of sport and the Olympic movement in Hong Kong and have the support of the national sports associations, they are eligible," he said.

Pui, vice-chairman of the Hong Kong Football Association, said yesterday he would stand to contribute to Hong Kong sport at a higher level. Of the organisation's 75 members, only 31 full members have voting rights.