• Sat
  • Aug 23, 2014
  • Updated: 9:49pm
SportOther Sport
CRICKET

England's James Anderson denies Champions Trophy ball tampering

England star denies ball was changed in match against Sri Lanka because it had been scratched

PUBLISHED : Monday, 17 June, 2013, 12:00am
UPDATED : Monday, 17 June, 2013, 4:35am
 

England strike bowler James Anderson has rejected claims from former captain Bob Willis that a ball was tampered with during the hosts' Champions Trophy match against Sri Lanka at the Oval on Thursday.

Willis, who now works as a television pundit, said umpire Aleem Dar came to his decision to change one of the two balls after 25 overs of the Sri Lanka innings because its surface was deemed to have been scratched to assist the bowlers, and not because it had gone out of shape.

David Lloyd, another former England cricketer who is also a television commentator, tweeted: "Ball change is simple … umpires thought that Eng changed the condition of the ball … which is against the laws."

The allegations were denied by England one-day coach Ashley Giles, who told a news conference: "We don't tamper with the ball. The ball was changed [by the umpire], as far as I am aware, because it had gone out of shape."

Anderson told the Mail on Sunday that Willis' comments were an unwelcome distraction.

"The fact is people can think what they like. We know the truth - I can state categorically that no one in the England team has ever tampered with a ball, and we won't allow comments made by someone like Bob Willis to worry us," he said. "I hadn't bowled for a while, so I didn't see the shape of the ball, but the umpires put it through their rings to test it and decided it needed changing."

Anderson said the England bowlers' ability to reverse-swing the ball did not mean that it was being tampered with.

"Just because one bowler or one team reverse a ball better than another on a given day doesn't mean to say he or they have been tampering. It just means they're more skilful," the 30-year-old said. "I can assure you that if any of the England bowlers achieve it then it is within the letter of the laws."

Share

For unlimited access to:

SCMP.com SCMP Tablet Edition SCMP Mobile Edition 10-year news archive
 
 

 

 
 
 
 
 

Login

SCMP.com Account

or