Super Rugby

Super Rugby is the pre-eminent professional club rugby competition in the southern hemisphere and involves five teams each from Australia, New Zealand and South Africa. It is also colloquially known as Super 15.

Wallaby winger Drew Mitchell to leave Australia

PUBLISHED : Wednesday, 17 April, 2013, 1:23pm
UPDATED : Thursday, 08 May, 2014, 2:47pm

Wallaby winger Drew Mitchell will leave Australian rugby at the end of the test season, reportedly to play in France.

The Australian Rugby Union said Wednesday that the 63-test veteran, who currently plays in Super Rugby with the New South Wales Waratahs, has decided not to sign a new contract.

Australian media outlets have reported that he is set to play with Toulon, joining former Wallaby Matt Giteau at the French Top 14 club.

The ARU said Mitchell remains available for the three-test British and Irish Lions tour in June and July and the Rugby Championship later in the year.

Mitchell, who made his Super rugby debut in 2004 with Queensland, is Australia’s second-highest Rugby World Cup try scorer with 10, equal with David Campese and one behind Chris Latham.


Send to a friend

To forward this article using your default email client (e.g. Outlook), click here.

Enter multiple addresses separated by commas(,)

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.

Related topics